Weekend Orchid Update and Some Other Stuff

Orchid Update 01.png

A Weekend Of This That And The Unexpected ..

Here it is nearly Thursday and I’m now only getting around to writing about the weekend. Well I’m now going to do that while also sprinkling in some early week stuff too.


So what happened this weekend?

Saturday - Our niece got confirmed by the church, so they had a little confirmation celebration with hamburgers hotdogs and barbecue style foods. It was a fun time and I ate too much as usual. Too much cake, too many burgers, I even had a hotdog and some chips and salsa. I added ice cream coffee and beer to that. Needless to say all I want to do Saturday afternoon was lay down and let everything digest.

Come Sunday - I did some odds and ends around at the house as well as do some light shopping for every day needs. My wife headed to a winery with her friend, which gave me some time to catch up on some NFL and NCAA football games. By later in the afternoon to early evening I was beginning to feel a twinge in my back. Years ago I got into a car accident, a head on collision not my fault. After the accident I had gone through a pretty extensive amount of physical therapy, which never really fixed my back issues. All the way in my lower back I feel the muscles begin to tighten and things being pulled out of whack and begin to be strained. Later on Sunday I begin to feel it getting worse and know that I’m in for a rough week.

Monday - I tried working some on Monday but ended up just leaving and coming home to lie down. Monday was the worst day but it carried through till Tuesday and now Wednesday. It’s beginning to feel a little better but I can tell it’s going to be several weeks until I’m back to normal. Whatever normal is. LOL

Tuesday - I took off work on Tuesday and rested my back muscles as well as performed several different stretches in order to relieve the strain in my lower back. I needed to walk as a way of stretching those muscles. Walking is actually one of the better exercises for stretching and working these muscles out, so I did my best to hobble around without making huge movements. I didn't go too far incase I fell to the ground in pain. I limited myself to the inside of the house. Soooo.. I was walking around the house I decided to take a few orchid update pictures.


Orchid Update ..

Last weekend I wrote a post and you may remember it. The post was about repotting three of my orchids in two glass pots with lava rock. The reporting went very well and everything still looks amazing. All the plants look healthy and happy to be in their new environment. Below are a handful of pictures that show these plants that I repotted and how they were doing well.

IMG_3151.JPG

IMG_3152.JPG

IMG_3153.JPG

The plants foliage, root systems, and terminal ends all look great! Everything is nice and solid, no wilting or die back is noticed. One weekend in the plant seem pretty happy. I’m sure that they love their new high humidity environments.


Wilting Flowers
On the other hand, I did notice that both orchids that are now in bloom are beginning to drop their flowers. Pepper’s Sympathy Orchid, the white orchid, it’s showing signs of extreme flower wilt. I’m guessing another week all these flowers will have fallen off. I’m not as sad as I have been in times past, because the new bloom stalk/shoot is progressing nicely. It still has some time to grow before it begins to bloom. I’m guessing another month at least.

IMG_3142.JPG

IMG_3143.JPG

In the following photo you can see how tall the bloom stem has grown since the last time I updated you on this orchid. It’s almost as tall as the other Bloom stem before it turned toward the light. I added another clip so now there are two holding this particular stem to a stake. I think in the future after this bloom cycle is complete, I need to repot this orchid. It’s beginning to lean outside of its pot. I can’t believe it has put on that much growth since it was gifted to us.

IMG_3144.JPG

IMG_3145.JPG

Another one of our orchid plants it has been blooming for quite some time, finally shows signs of wilting, dropping flowers, and ending this plume cycle. It may be the next orchid that I repot now that I see it’s done blooming.

IMG_3146.JPG

IMG_3148.JPG

I stopped at a local hardware store looking for pots but they didn’t have any out on display. It seems Christmas decorations are already out and in the place of spring and summer supplies. I guess I should’ve expected that. I’ll keep my eye out for some new pots in the meantime. Never know where I’ll find them. Maybe hobby lobby or something like that.


Well I have to get back to laying down and resting my back, so if you don’t hear from me soon you’ll know why… I’m still laid up! Ha ha ha.

Really though back pain sucks!!!

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency