A Watermelon Weekend

D7C08031-9108-4DA9-85B1-29FD06F76E88.jpeg

Sunday Time In The Garden ..

It was a beautiful morning this morning, so I grab my coffee and headed outdoors after breakfast. Headed straight out to the garden to poke around and see how things were progressing. The tomato plant looks great, string beans getting close to being picked, the peppers not quite there yet, something seems to have trampled a few of my squash plants, and the watermelon’s seem to be growing like crazy.

I sat down my coffee cup, as you see above, to give reference to the largest watermelon I could find so far. It’s about the size of a large grapefruit. In total I counted roughly 25 to 30 watermelons on these plants. That’s gonna be way too many for my belly. Does anybody want any watermelon? I guess I’ll be knocking on the neighbors doors giving these away if they do turn out to be decent. Years in the past, when we tried to grow watermelon, they’ve either been to seedy, rotted before they were ready to pick, or some animal got to them. Either way we’ve never had great luck growing them. We’ll see if this year turns out to be any different.

F15291F7-19C6-4F91-BFC5-9C0282D6165E.jpeg

This shot below was taken just a few days ago.. So much growth is such a short period of time. It always amazes me.

IMG_1425.JPG

F3F8C9D2-538C-48C8-A1D5-1D76B1AC8BE7.jpeg

Nothing ready to pick today .. so I didn’t do any picking. Today my goal was to trim back some of the vines that are growing into the yard. Like I said above we already have plenty of watermelon growing that I don’t think we need any more. I’ll trim these vines up and the plants can put their energy into the existing fruit.

9B958953-0712-477E-AE56-5A23A6922EE9.jpeg

Snip snip, trim trim, cut cut and these trimmings go on the mulch pile. It’s so hot and humid today, even at 8 AM, that these vines didn’t take long to wilt after I cut them. In three or four days this plot that I have them planted in has really grown quite a bit. I don’t think it will be more than another day or so and I’ll have to do more trimming.

F9D1F28F-F443-4B66-A2A3-F0C420154F55.jpeg

While I was in the patch trimming out what didn’t need to be there, I did notice the pollinators doing their job. Several bees were working around my hands and didn’t seem to be bothered by my presence. They were focused on their job of collecting nectar for the hive. Believe me, I tried not to disturb them too much because I didn’t really feel like being stung today. I’ll just leave the Bee. 🐝 hehehehehe

7050B5A4-E6BB-4FD5-B8A7-D8F7ED214802.jpeg

Well, that’s it for now. I’m off to travel around the yard and see what else is blooming and growing. I’m going to enjoy the growth, the green leaves and blowing breeze, the flowers and the bees. I hate to say it but before we know it the fall will arrive and cooler temperatures will set in. These flowers, fruits, insects and animals will be just memories. So I’m going to get back to enjoying the day while it lasts!

Happy Weekend 😁

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency