As I visited the city of Tomsk, the city of student youth

Hello, my friends!

Weekend isn’t just Saturday and Sunday, is it?

Weekend is also a long-awaited VACATION!

When you don’t have to go to work. You can enjoy your vacation for a few weeks!

I hope that our kind @galenkp will allow me to talk about my vacation last fall.

I’ll tell you about my trip to Tomsk!

This city of Tomsk is in Russia, in Siberia!

It is a beautiful city.
Tomsk combines modern architecture of buildings and the historical part of the city with old wooden houses.

I came to Tomsk in 1984, after graduating from high school.
I went on to further study at a higher education institution - Tomsk State University.

I studied in a very interesting specialty - in geography, in meteorology!
So Tomsk is the city of my student youth.

I’ve been dying to come to Tomsk lately!
Last year, my dream came true!
For a short time, just a few days, I came to the city of my student years.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to walk on many interesting streets of Tomsk...
But I can tell you about places I’ve been.

To make you more comfortable reading my story, I’ll write it chapter by chapter!

Beautiful River Tom

First of all, when I came to Tomsk, I went to the bank of a river called Tomj.

It’s a beautiful, wide Siberian river!

2.jpg

The flow of the River Tom is always calm...

1.jpg

By the river I walked in the evening, at sunset.
The evening sun is reflected in the water.

3.jpg

Black ducks live on the river!
They float calmly in the water near the shore.

_1.jpg

On the banks of the Tome River you can see the townspeople feeding these ducks, or taking pictures of them...

_.jpg

There is a tiled sidewalk along the Tome River.
Citizens who come to the river are very comfortable to walk along this coastal street.

img_20171013_234810.jpg

One of the attractions of Tomsk is the monument to the Russian writer A.P. Chekhov.
It is located on the bank of the river Tomj!

_.jpg

I have already talked about this monument, here here

However, on the bank of the river Tomj there are also ugly places.
This is how the part of the river bank was destroyed...

img_20171014_022042.jpg

City Park Camp Garden (Лагерный сад)

Not far from the river Tomj is a favorite resting place of the townspeople.
This is a city park called the Camp Garden (Лагерный сад).

This park does not have the usual children’s rides, fountains, swings.
The camp garden is intended for simple walks.

It reminds me more of a corner of a real Siberian forest - with birches and pines...
There’s a lot of green in the park.

Trees grow along the paths of the park. No one cuts them!
Trees grow in "wild" conditions!

_.jpg

A memorial of military glory has been created in the Camp Garden Park.

A large monument was erected to the soldiers who participated in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945.

img_20171014_000722.jpg

And at the entrance to the park there is a real cannon!

img_20171014_001048.jpg

The park is very comfortable and peaceful.
Even pigeons are not afraid of people, they know no one will hurt them!

img_20171014_003949.jpg

In the park Camp Garden even ordinary garbage cans are beautifully decorated! 😁

img_20171014_000945.jpg

_.png

I walk the streets of my beloved city of Tomsk!

Let’s take a walk downtown in Tomsk with me!

You’ll see the university I went to when I was young.

And then we’ll go into a little square in downtown Tomsk.

My university

Of course I couldn’t get past Tomsk State University!
Because I studied at this university!

I approach the university with spiritual trepidation.

img_20171014_004424.jpg

Up ahead, the familiar facade of the university!

Nothing has changed in time. This is how I remember my Alma Mater. Beautiful white columns...

_.jpg

And this is the Science Library building.
A glass passage between the two buildings of the library.

img_20171014_004251.jpg

There is an unusual sculpture in the courtyard of Tomsk University.

It’s an ancient statue - an idol from the time of the savage tribes of barbarians!
She has a broken nose 😉
A real archaeological find!

img_20171014_003814.jpg

In a quiet square...

Now let’s take a rest in a quiet square in downtown Tomsk.

img_20171014_005309.jpg

There is another higher educational institution of the city - Tomsk Institute of Radioelectronics.
My uncle Anatoly worked there for a long time. He was the head of the department!

img_20171014_005448.jpg

Tomsk is a student city!
There are many institutions in it!

Therefore, a monument to Tomsk students is installed on the square.

img_20171014_005702.jpg

Sculpture bust of Russian poet A.S. Pushkin.

img_20171014_010829.jpg

Drama theater in Tomsk.

img_20171014_023408.jpg

And here is a sculpture of the Tomsk Militiaman!
Now, in this day and age, they’d call that dude a cop!

img_20171014_015324.jpg

There are many beautiful historical buildings in the centre of Tomsk.
I like houses like this - they’re more glamorous than modern skyscrapers.

_.jpg

When I was walking on Tomsk, I also went to the Orthodox temple.
This is the church of the monastery in Tomsk.

img_20171014_022805.jpg

_.jpg

Siberian pancakes in half with a pigeon!

I walked for a long time in the center of the city of Tomsk and got very hungry!

I decided to go to a café that sells Siberian pancakes!

img_20171014_023614.jpg

Ooh, pancakes are delicious!
They make pancakes in this cafe. They sell them fresh and hot!

img_20171014_012156.jpg

I was glad when they gave me a big bundle of hot pancakes!

img_20171014_020009.jpg

Oh how delicious! The stuffing of the pancakes was made of potatoes and mushrooms!

But only I sat on a bench next to the cafe and I took a bite of my pancake...

img_20171014_020003.jpg

... the pigeon came!

img_20171014_020332.jpg

It wasn’t a shy bird, it was a cheeky hungry pigeon!
He had the nerve to look in my mouth and demand a piece of pancake! 😁

I had to give my pancake to a bird!

_.png

Here is such a walk around the city of Tomsk I got last fall on my big big WEEKEND - on vacation!

I hope someday I can come back to Tomsk, the city of my student youth!

img_20171014_005740.jpg

I invite @ericvancewalton to walk with me in the Siberian city of Tomsk!
My friend Eric is interested in our country Russia. And I would love to talk about Russia!

_.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency