CTC Stages Jonathan Larson's Rent | Theatre Chronicles 1 #weekend #throwback

What a way to spend a Sunday afternoon! It was May 24, 2015, and I watched Creative Thespians Club's staging of Jonathan Larson's Rent.

Rent Blog Banner .png

It was co-produced by the Department of Health - Region 7 to help raise awareness about AIDS and HIV. This production had the special permission of Music Theatre International (MTI). Awesome!

There were two shows that day. I attended the matinee at 3 PM with my then-boyfriend because he was on a graveyard shift that week. The gala show started at 7:00 PM.

When we went to the auditorium at the University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF) - Lahug, I didn't know what to expect. Definitely, I was excited. I started as a thespian with CTC, and I know how passionate these people are about their craft. Don't you worry, I shall talk about my Les Mis experience with them in a future article.

It was great to see familiar faces on stage. I felt proud seeing them perform totally different roles from what I was used to. I was not used to seeing Fritz Ian Palomares playing a serious character like Mark, but he's a chameleon. I was blown away. Fritz, I'm so proud of you, and you're forever my Mr. Thenardier.

Rent_with Fritz_logo.jpg
Fritz is my stage husband: he played Mr. Thenardier when I was Mrs. T in CTC's Les Miserable production in 2012. He has one of the most powerful voices I know.

It was also refreshing to see CTC newbies. But I should warn you, dear reader: they performed like they were born to do it. I'm talking about Frances Aine Abella, who played Mimi, and Maria Theresa Aves, who played Maureen. These are challenging roles, and they nailed it!

The actors performed with finesse even with some minor technical problems. Professionals to the core. Even those playing supporting roles were impressive. MJ Gastador and Pia Rafols, hats off to both of you! I also got a dose of LSS (last song syndrome) because of Warren's line, "Honest living! Honest living! Honest living!" in the song "Christmas Bells Are Ringing." And Iris's version of Joanne was incredible. I'm a fan of these people.

20150517_100344044_iOS.png
With Iris who played Joanne. We were "Lovely Ladies" in CTC's Les Miserables.

I was at the edge of my seat by the start of the second act. I wanted to sing along to "Seasons of Love," but I had to hold my horses because it isn't allowed. Emilyn, you did right with that coda! Amazing pipes!

What set this musical apart from the usual stuff we see here in Cebu was the live band. Yes, the Ice Wave Band accompanied the actors in their performances. I've always wanted to sing with a live band in a musical. I should have auditioned for this one, hehe.

If there was something that could have completed this experience, it would have been my students. However, the school did not approve my request. It was summer--the "dry" season. Hopefully, I could bring my students to the theatre again soon.

Kudos to the artistic directors, Mark Jude Tenedero and Junrey Alayacyac, for a fantastic production. Iris Jane Mantilla, who played Joanne, exclaimed that CTC survived. Yes, it did, and it will continue to do so---all 525,600 minutes of it played on repeat.

Congratulations again, CTC.

Rent_Marlon and Romz_with logo (1).png

With sets and props manager Marlon and choreographer Romelyn. We all go back to the Les Mis show as well.

I'm sharing this review because I miss the vibrance of Cebuano theatre. Whether I'm acting on stage or sitting among the audience, I can't help but fall in love with this art. Hence, I am optimistic that this dire time we are experiencing now will soon give way to better days. See you again in theatres soon. Amping.

Hive Post Banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency