Torum: Social Media for Crypto Enthusiasts

This weekend on Noise somebody was talking about Torum and I had no idea what it was. When I went to research I was surprised that there was this social media platform based on crypto that I had missed entirely! I can't imagine I am the only one that missed it, so I wrote this introduction to Torum!
image.png

What is Torum?

Torum is a social platform, not unlike facebook, but then focussed solely on crypto. You have a profile with a newsfeed and you can join clans to talk or read about topics that interest you. The platform uses its own token XTM (Torum) to reward participants for creating interesting and high quality content. Torum is still being developed but let me tell you it looks amazing!

What If I Want to Join?

You can use the referral link: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=plints to receive 15 XTM when you start or just sign up yourself: https://www.torum.com/ to start from scratch.

After you sign up you will have to verify your email and your phone number, this is to prevent abuse from spammers. After doing that you will find yourself being able to do Daily Missions. Only when you have reached 100 points in the Daily Missions, will the other missions open up for you, also to prevent spammers. I found it pretty easy to figure out and met a great mod, who helped me when I was dumb enough to forget a digit in my phonenumber.

What Can I Do on Torum?

image.png

As you can see the home page is not too unlike Facebook, you can see your newsfeed, but you can also hit discover to see what people wrote that you are not following. You can create a post, follow interesting people etc.

On the top you also see Companies and Clans, where you can follow the groups that you are interested in.
image.png

Here you can see some of the clans that I have joined. If you want to start a new discussion/give information/ do a poll or whatever you want to do you can post a thread in a clan and interact with people.

If you go to the missions tab you will get an overview of your missions:
image.png

So here you see my daily missions, good girl that I am I have done them all. When you have acquired 100 power-ups you can also get weekly, one-time and special missions. I started last night and managed to power up to almost 25% so it's not too hard.

Wallet and Tokens

So on the platform you get rewarded in XTM and this basically happens in two ways:
image.png

First of all you earn XTM through your missions. The first time you have to get 500 XTM before you can move those off the platform, hence that those tokens are not in my exchange wallet at the moment.

The second way to get tokens is through gifts, people can send you XTM if they really like your content and this goes straight to your exchange wallet. Currently XTM is tradable on Uniswap, but as the site is still in beta you cannot withdraw to an external wallet yet, they promise this will be available soon.

Finally, you can collect shards and dust, like you see here:
image.png

Shards and dust can both be used as power up for your staking multiplier. Shards are based on the amount of XTM you have (1 XTM is 1 shard) and dust can be gained by gifting to other users. So giving away 1 XTM = 1 dust.

Final Words

Torum is still in Beta, but I have to say I find it pretty sophisticated already! It works nice and the visual is great! Only time will tell if XTM is here to stay, but the project seems solid.

Have any of you tried Torum yet?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency