Splinterlands Land Rentals? How Much Will They Be Worth?

lands

Some of you may know I have a lot of Splinterlands cards.

It's true. I probably have an irresponsible amount.

One of the good things about that though is that I can use my collection as a proxy for cards in general.

image.png

I'm basically renting out all my cards. And I have a little over 1.2% of all the card values (which is going to go way down when all these new players have new cards to buy).

image.png

With making 87k DEC/day at the moment, if we pro-rate that up to the entire market that makes a rental potential of about 7 million DEC/day or 51,501 USD/day. Obviously not all cards are for rent so this is just a guesstimate of the total economic rental value.

Dividing into that market value, we get a rental value of 13.5% overall.

It's early in the season so that may be skewing the numbers downward.

OK, so what about lands?

We know that there are 150,000 plots. 10,000 plots are reserved for guild brawls and stuff, so there's 140,000 available for you and me.

There's a giant difference between lands and cards though. Even though both are game NFTs and rentable, we know there will be more cards (eventually) but there are no plans to mint more lands.

This makes me think rental yields will be a bit higher than rentals on cards.

If cards are at 13.5%, maybe lands will be at 20%.

But 20% of what?

We're already at 400 USD/plot before we know anything about the plots. Once the lands expansion is live and functional, I can see plots going for 1000 USD easily.

If that's the case, that works out to a potential rental value of 76k USD/day or 10 million DEC/day at current prices.

That's a lot of DEC.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency