Pondering building Hive Power and February Delegations

Pud delegations Feb 2021.png

In her official winners' list for February, @traciyork reported that 406 accounts had powered up and qualified for bee badges from @hivebuzz. Of those, only 139 posted and used #HivePUD and/or #HPUD.

This, however, is telling:

226,564 Hive (worth approx $31,719 USD) powered up by 406 people during the 24 hour UTC time set to earn @hivebuzz badges (check out their awesome Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day post for more info).

That says something not just about the value of our blockchain, but how people also value it. Perhaps, as some have opined, it had to do with Elon Musk's sudden support of Bitcoin and the spike in cryptos, generally, perhaps not. Certainly, crypto is becoming more discussed and suddenly there seems to be more chatter about it - not just on crypto Twitter - and on Hive - but among more ordinary mortals. Regulation is looming and what that will mean for the more anarchic amongst us who suffer from governmental jaundice is not yet clear.

Another "C" to add to the other less pleasant "Cs" (Covid and cancer) that seem to dominate discourse these days.

Low barriers to entry

For many without resources - I count among those - Hive presents an opportunity to get into crypto. As I have consistently said, for me, it's a side hustle and income generating opportunity doing something I enjoy, and which has the potential for me to build a nest-egg after having had to cash in my pension.

With apologies to Air Supply, if I can make something out of (almost) nothing (my ideas) at all, I'm delighted. And this something has come in handy in this time of one of the Cs. The little bit of fiat I was able to draw was as much of a lifesaver as was the writing and the virtual friendship circle of the Hive.

Reflecting on powering up and growing an account

Yes, this is the same sub-heading as in my last delegation post, but I think some of the points bear repeating. My account has grown some 276 HP in the last month and, I hope that if I am able to continue following my own advice, I may hit 4k HP once I've powered up on 1 March. Yes, it's in the diary - powering up on March 1st!

What is my strategy?

Before I get into the details of what I do, because I seem to have found at least one regular gig (more of that in time), and I am still cooking for the market and still potentially resuscitating my little tourism-related business that was a covid casualty, I am a bit more AFK (away from the keyboard - for Hive anyway). Consequently, I have less time for curation and long writes. These last, truth be told, are the posts I most enjoy preparing but are the ones that take the most time (and research and reviewing and...).

As I said in that previous post, I do five things, not necessarily in this order, or particularly well:

  1. I post regularly. I try to post every day. I try not to do what I consider really sh*tposts. Each generally has at least 150 - 200 words and a photograph or two; they really are a (web)log or diary of events in and around my life. I do like longer, more reflective posts, but those take a long time to do - usually as much as 8 or 9 hours (plus research in some instances and re-drafting).
  2. I comment on posts that resonate for me. I don't do as much of this as I'd like for reasons I've explained. What I always do is reply to comments on my posts and reply to replies. Not ad nauseum, but until the conversation reaches its logical conclusion.
  3. I do make use of a fan base. Because I am AFK and I have a select bunch of accounts I like supporting for a range of reasons and which enables me to curate. I do update it from time to time, adjusting the accounts, the size and frequency of the vote.
  4. I have delegated to accounts that give me a daily return; and finally
  5. As time allows, I participate in initiatives and competitions that can potentially earn me Hive.

I will also acknowledge that 2 and 5 are likely to suffer in the next while and folk on whose posts I usually comment, should not take umbrage. It's most definitely not personal.

Last but not least

As you know, I have, since last June, given three monthly, three week delegations to small accounts participating in Power Up Day. I started with 50 HP and now they are 100 HP. When there are no, or not enough eligible accounts, I have selected a curation initiative. This month, there was only one qualifying account, @kemmyb, so the "surplus" 200HP are being split between @ocd and @natmed.

So, as proof -

image.png

Natural Medicine is a community that @riverflows founded and manages, and of which I am a relatively new (and lurking) member. I like the focus on the positive and the whole person. The essence of this community, to which @plantstoplanks introduced me, is not about medicine per se, it's about healing - emotional, physical and spiritual - as well as simply being well - which, in this day and age, seems to be an increasing challenge.

Heaven knows, the world needs a lot of healing right now. Because membership of elements of the Natural Medicine Discord include a compulsory delegation, I have increased my delegation to 200HP.

Again, proof -

image.png

Catch you in the Hive between now and the end of the month.

May February be kind to us all.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

In search of English writing, research and editing services, look no further: I will help you with
writing - emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation more information here
  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up -

  • Image: @traciyork
    • I also share my occasional instagram posts to the crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click the icon below, and give it a go.
    H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    9 Comments
    Ecency