My response to @bitcoinflood - Do delegations Undermine The Entire POB Concept

Good morning to one and all , I hope you all are having a good day .

I just woke up today and hopped on Hive ( as I always do :) ) and saw my name tagged in one of the comments . It was a post made by @bitcoinflood .

The post is titled - Do Delegations Undermine The Entire POB Concept

I feel like I have an obligation to respond to this post . Why?

What's the need for the response ?

As many of you might already know , I run an engagement project on Hive for the following tribes -

  1. LEO
  2. STEM
  3. SPORTS
  4. POB
  5. WEED
  6. CTP

Since POB is one of the tribe and my @amr008.pob has received delegations from various users , I think it's necessary for me to respond to this post .

If you check the richlist of POB

image.png

The curation account is at 6th position right now .

With such big holdings ( atleast for now ) , I will explain why @bitcoinflood points doesn't fully apply to my curation account .

What does @bitcoinflood post say ?

If you haven't looked at the post I suggest you to do it because it is a wonderful post .

I would like to mention before hand that I agree with most of the points mentioned there but I just think it doesn't apply to my curation account .

Before going ahead , I would like to say in simple words how my project works

How to participate ?

You don't have to register or anything . All you have to do is comment from these frontends

https://ctptalk.com - to get CTP upvotes
https://sportstalksocial.com - to get SPORTS upvotes
https://leofinance.io - to get LEO upvotes
https://stemgeeks.net - to get STEM upvotes
https://weedcash.network - to get WEED upvotes
https://proofofbrain.io - to get POB upvotes

Remember that you have to comment from these frontends itself , why? to increase the traffic for the site and improve the rankings of the site . ( Believe me , it works , look at SportsTalkSocial alexa rankings ) .
But will everyone get upvoted ?

No , only the top 25 engagers will get upvotes , they will be ranked everyday based on quality of comments , number of authors they have spoken to etc .

The ranks are uploaded along with the data on https://hivelayers-stats.herokuapp.com everyday . Just go to community page ( choose this in left top ) .

Snippets and my response -

Instead of 1,000 people going around and curating content to get rewards 1,000 accounts now throw their powered up hive or tokens to a curation account. That one account now has to try and do the work of hundreds of people in terms of curating content each day.

I totally agree with this . No 1 person can do a job as effectively as 100 or 1000 people .

But with my project , it is not "me" who is curating but it is the bot which is curating .

A bot cannot replace 100 people too

I totally agree with this , it can't but if you have followed me and my project you will know how much improvements in the coding I have done to make sure only quality comments are upvoted .

Couple of examples of code improvements - @amr008/ways-of-income-for-engagement-project-major-code-update-with-explanation-to-check-the-comment-quality

The negatives =
Passive income for those lazy
Centralization
Less activity and engagement

  • Passive income for those lazy

    • This isn't totally negative according to me . A lot of users want to be involved in a project from early on but they don't have enough time to curate themselves .We all know how many communities are on Hive and it is impossible to curate everything by yourself so if you invest in a project and want it to grow then delegation is a good option which is positive in my opinion .
  • Centralization

    • I totally agree with this . If 100 users delegate to 1 user and the 1 user upvotes whomever he wants or whichever content he thinks is good then it is centralized .
      • But this isn't the case with my project because
        • I don't have control over whom the bot votes . You have made good quality comments ? You get upvoted . I have explained in detail how the ranking works and I also post the top 25 users everyday to make it transparent ( from @amr008.ctp account ) . Anybody can see their ranking and since I take a lot of factors into count , only quality comments gets upvoted .
  • Less activity and engagement

    • This is something which doesn't apply to my project at all because my project tries to do the total opposite of this . I believe it has increased engagement on POB platform to be honest .

Final words .

What you shouldn't mistake after reading this post is -

  1. @bitcoinflood didn't even mention me or my project . He wasn't referring to me or any particular person . He was just referring to all delegated accounts in general .
  2. This is not a "revenge" post , oh listen to "my version " of the post - NO . This is a response to that post which is mandatory on my part since in terms of delegations I stand 2nd in the POB community .
  3. I want to repeat that I have nothing in my hands when it comes to upvoting for engagement project , if you post quality comments you get upvoted .
  4. I like @bitcoinflood posts and this post too makes a lot of sense , I agree with majority of the post except one thing - it doesn't apply to my engagement project because I have worked and put effort on it to make sure it doesn't become centralized :)

I am always open to suggestions / advices / criticism . Feel free to ask me questions regarding the engagement project if you have any , I will be more than happy to reply to that .


Regards,
MR.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency