A Piece of Happiness

You know those days where life feels like it is all a big playground; carefree, having fun, laughing, enjoying all that is on offer?

Today was not one of those days.

image.png

It is not that it was a bad day by any measure, but it was just full-on, non-stop, switching from one meeting to another, each with a different focus, each requiring a switch in thinking, and position, where I was delivering and leading some and others, I was expected to be switched on enough to add value to what might be complex conversations.

It is that last bit that worries me a bit, because in the final two sessions, I weas dealing with colleagues on the US side of the time zone, which meant that they were bright and fresh, whilst I was coming off the back of the day. And, these conversations are the ones where I am talking with people about things that are technically "above my paygrade" but will fall into my lap in the future. So, while I am not at my best, I am making decisions on things that have much wider company ramifications, but will blow back into my face if not correct.

Ah - being an employee is awesome.

One day Taraz, one day.

One day, I won't have to worry about any of this shit nonsense and can do what I want for money, instead of what I must. At least, that is what the dreamer in me keeps saying. But according to my recent psychological profile, I am still skeptical enough that I don't let the dreams control me completely - I don't make the assumption that they will come true, I don't bet on the miracle. This means that work comes first in so many instances, including my own health.

Many disagree with this approach, but what is interesting to note from my own experiences is, poorer people don't seem healthier than the richer, most of the time. Sure, stress supposedly kills, as does not sleeping enough, not exercising enough, not eating well... Are they things that only the overworked struggle with? I have an unemployed friend who sleeps far less than I do, as she spend all of her time online and watching this and that - and evidence suggests she isn't eating that well or exercising.

All the time in the world, still not enough time to be healthy.

Well, "health" comes in many forms of course, but it is interesting to note that while time is often cited as the reason to not exercise or eat well, replacing good food with junk food, those with a lot of time on their hands, don't seem to use their hands to improve their conditions. Catch-22, or just that idle hands tend to lead to poor conditions?

Right now though, while Smallsteps is at her first dance class for the season, I have a few minutes to write a little bit between finishing work, the plumber leaving after removing the radiators and then helping the builder do the drywalling, while the electrician readies the wiring.

The schedules are full, but based on my own life "rule" of not sleeping at night until I have given my all to the day, I do get the sense of accomplishment and I do get to see the fruits of my labor, and the labor I paid to labor for me. Lots of labor, little time, plenty of results.

It is a funny life really, because while we spend so much of our time looking for ways not to work, most people actually feel better for having worked. Sure, it isn't "work at anything", but in general, life is like going to the gym - it might be difficult but after, you feel better for having pushed hard, rather than puss out.

Time to get back into it!

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency