the first mushrooms of 2021 - season is opened! (10 macro foto)

IMG_5578w3.jpg

Hola, setero! It was a while I posted anything in this nice corner of the Hive.

No, its not that I am out of mushroom supplies, thats not the thing. The thing was probably sort of an author's block?.. I was sick of old supplies / macro sessions and I wanted to share something new. Now I have this 'something new'. As simple as that!

Tomorrow I probably will not have enough time for writing a decent post, so here it is. A #FungiFriday' on Tuesday! Hope @ewkaw will not be mad at me, but enjoy the biodivercity and macros.


So, today I share some very fresh mushroom impressions from my 1st brief visit to the countryside. We checked our place, opened the house and suffered from mosquitos so much! that it was a torture to came out and do anything at all. We spent just a weekend there and it was a real mess.

But I found my 1st mushrooms and 'opened the season'!

IMG_5562wH.jpg

My first mushrooms I found on a rotten birch stump near the porch. This is 'Lycogala epidendrum'. They are very small (just 2-3 mm in diameter). The camera didn't want to focus on such small objects. These very characteristic and memorable balls have the popular folk's name as 'wolf udder' or 'wolf's milk', given for this reason: when the ball is crushed (while it is still pink), a juice of very strange orange color will spray out of it. (Fairy tales attributed to this "milk" a magical powers capable of transforming people into animals and plants).

Мои первые грибы, обнаруженные на пне возле крыльца. Это Ликогала древесинная. Они очень маленькие (2 мм в диаметре). Камера не хотела фокусироваться на этих крошках. Эти запоминающиеся шарики необычного нежно-розового цвета имеют народное название "волчье вымя", или "волчье молоко". Если такой шарик раздавить пока он розовый, из него брызнет наружу сок оранжевого цвета. (Сказки приписывали ему волшебную силу, способную превращать людей в зверей и растения).


IMG_5608w.jpg

In reality, as the spores mature, the pink color darkens from pink to deep coffee, and spores form in the ripening spore-bearing balls. Ripe balls resemble animal poop, black grouse or hare. In Estonian folklore, these mushrooms are even called puugipask or kratisitt, which means "brownie shit", i.e. evil spirits. When the fruit bodies are finally ripe, they explode and the wind carries the smallest spores around. In my case, the very next day half of them "matured" and changed their color - from bright pink to moderate dark red-gray. They probably exploded when we left ...

По мере созревания спор, розовый цвет темнеет от розового до густо-кофейного, шарики-спороносы созревают и в них образуются споры. Созревшие шарики напоминают звериные какашки, тетерева или зайца. В эстонском фольклоре эти грибы даже называются puugipask или kratisitt, что означает "дерьмо домового", т.е. нечисти. Когда плодовые тела окончательно созревают, они взрываются и ветер разносит мельчайшие споры вокруг. В моем случае, уже на следующий день половина из них "созрела" и поменяла свой цвет - c ярко розового на умеренный темно-красно-серый. Вероятно, они взорвались уже когда мы уехали...


IMG_5578w1.jpg

These are the most beautiful and photogenic mushrooms I have found. A real bodegon! These handsome men took a liking to an old branch and sat on it in relaxed poses, as if they were posing for me. Cool family, isn't it? It’s a shame that I didn’t name them. I do not lose hope that experts from the forum or other Hivean friends and experts will help me.

Это самые красивые и фотогеничные грибы, которые я нашел. Настоящий бодегон! Эти красавцы облюбовали старую ветку и расселись на ней в расслабленных позах, словно они позируют мне. Клёвая семейка, не правда ли? Так жаль, что я не определил их имени. Я не теряю надежды, что эксперты с форума или друзья-хивеанцы помогут мне.


IMG_5586w.jpg

I add two more photos (a close ups) for identify purposes. You may see they have a nice barrel-esque stem.

IMG_5578w4.jpg


IMG_5612w.jpg

Another UFO, quite a delicate and ephemera one, on a thin stem.

Еще один незнакомец - свой паспорта сей грибной гражданин мне не предъявил.


IMG_6078w.jpg

These mushrooms (Mycena sp, I guess) grew even closer to my house doors, literally 20 cm from the steps! This was definitely the first thing I saw when I walked up to the house. The mushrooms seemed to be waiting for me with the whole family, and I did not disappoint them. Since we had many more important things to do than squatting with a camera, I covered the whole family with a large cast iron skillet so that none of our family would step on them. And we stepped over this frying pan for two days. When it was time to leave, I quickly took 70 photos. But for now, I'll only show you this one - I'll tell you this story in a separate post!

Эти грибы (полагаю, Мицена sp.) выросли буквально в 20 см от ступенек нашего дома! Это безусловно было первое что я увидел на даче. Грибы словно ждали меня всей семьей, и я их не разочаровал. Поскольку у нас было много дел более важных, чем ползать на корточках с камерой, я накрыл все семейство большой чугунной сковородкой, чтобы никто из нашей семьи на них не наступил. И мы перешагивали эту сковородку два дня. Когда наступило время уезжать, я быстро сделал 70 фотографий. Но пока покажу вам только эту одну - я еще расскажу вам эту историю в отдельном посте!


IMG_5773conv.jpg

location: St.Petersburg, Russia June 2021 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv

And the last one, already a well-known friend: Peziza vesiculosa. I have found one edition of this mushroom exactly on the same spot, as back in 2021 (a burnt place where we used fire on the willow' roots). Hope you enjoyed this little mushroom walk with me!

sep1201.png

Now, its time to part ways, I wish you good luck -- and Good Hunting! Oh, and Happy #FungiFriday to you! And a little reminder: we have a nice fun challenge at HIVE, hold by @EwkaW: #FungiFriday. I hope many of you will join, as there are only 2 simple rules:

  • when Friday comes, share your fungi with us! post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, stolen images will be checked and reported !)
  • add #fungifriday (not necessarily must be your 1st tag). that's all!

fc_6737_0.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency