fungi friday - september mushrooms

Hola, setero! Today I share some mushroom impressions from trips to the forest and around my countryside place.


First goes this fungi that I encountered only once.

IMG_0712w-h.jpg

As you may know, I love orange, this is one of my fave colours. And there are tonns of fancy orange-colored mushrooms out there.

Here, I believe, a family of waxcaps was discovered. Some of them were quite strong, others already aged and were rotting. To be more precise: Hygrocybe cónica, or in Russian Влажноголовка, Гигроцибе коническая.

IMG_0708w-h.jpg


fng-2020-0164w-h.jpg

Laetíporus sulphúreus, the famous 'Chicken of the woods', or in Russian 'Трутовик серно-жёлтый'... this year was not found. (I added to the post my picture from the archive). Last year I remembered well the place, the stump where this mushroom grew (in the yards, not very far from my house) - with the goal of finding it this year and collecting it before it outgrew the "young, soft, edible" stage of its life cycle ... I really wanted to fry it and taste it. And you know what? I found it... oh, the law of meanness! ... we met, but I found it not on that stump, but in the garbage damp: some ignorant people (let heaven forgive them!) cut it off the tree - it was not allowed to grow :/ and more, they even bothered to carry it to the nearest garbage dump. I think fear and ignorance are to blame, I don't know what else... All in all, this led to stupidity, and this year I most likely will not meet this mushroom again. Now our meeting back in 2020 looks like a very unlikely miracle. And this year's meeting (in the garbage) is even less likely event ...

В прошлом году я запомнил место, тот пень где рос этот гриб (во дворах, не очень далеко от моего дома) - с целью найти его в этом году и собрать, пока он не перерос стадию "молодой, мягкий, съедобный" своего жизненного цикла. Я очень хотел его пожарить и попробовать на вкус. И знаете что? я нашел его... о, закон подлости!... мы с ним все-таки встретились, но я нашел его не на том пне, а на помойке: какие-то невежественные люди (да простит их небо!) срезали его с дерева - не дали вырасти ... но дали себе труд отнести до ближайшей помойки. Я думаю, что виноваты страх и невежество, не знаю чего тут больше. В сумме это привело к глупости, и в этом году я скорее всего уже не встречу этот гриб. Наша прошлогодняя встреча с ним теперь выглядит как очень маловероятное чудо. А встреча этого года (на помойке) - еще менее вероятное событие...


2020-dacha-2254w-h.jpg

Leccinus scábrum, in Russian: 'Подберезовик обыкновенный'. Indeed, very ordinary and usual mushroom.


sep1201.png

It has very soft body tissues, which are easily affected by worms. So if the mushroom is not very young - most probably it is infected with worms. I dont love this trophey too much.


fng-2020-0016w-h.jpg

These are Armillaria mellea. How did I know this? The mushrooms seem to be too young, have just appeared and give no distinctive features in this photo? Well, I'm not a magician - in fact, another family of the same mushrooms was growing nearby, which was at a later stage of the life cycle. Thats how I deduced correct iD.

fng-2020-0070w-h.jpg


fng-2020-0073w-h.jpg

No mushrooms in this frame, but the lichens -- best mushroom's friends!


fng-2020-0206w-u.jpg

Oyster mushrooms - edible fungi that folks cultivate artificially a lot, and they often can be seen on sale in the supermarkets. Those I found at an old poplar tree, when I was following my babygirl to school. Luckily, I encountered them right at the beginning of their lifecycle - a few days more, and they grew up their caps and became far less photo-friendly, than you may see here.

fng-2020-0219w-h.jpg


IMG_5525w-h.jpg

Pholiots squarrosa, or shaggy scalycap, the shaggy Pholiota, in Russian: 'Чешуйчатка обыкновенная'. In the fall, I often see this mushroom growing in large families, and it is not difficult for me to identify its iD. It has a really memorable appearance, isnt it?


Now, its time to part ways, I wish you good luck -- and Good Hunting!
Oh, and Happy #FungiFriday to you!
A little reminder: we have a fun challenge at Hive: #FungiFriday!
I hope many of you will join, as there are only 2 simple rules:

  • when Friday comes, share your fungi with us! post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, stolen images will be checked and reported !)
  • add #fungifriday (not necessarily must be your 1st tag). that's all!

fc_6737_0.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency