Another Foray for #FungiFriday

It's still Friday where I am so here is a #FungiFriday post about another mushroom foray I went on with my local mycology club.

Again, we were in White Pine dominated forests. So that meant plenty of Suillus mushrooms which are mycorhyzial with the Eastern White Pine (Pinus strobus). Here is the Painted Suillus (Suillus spraguei).

painted_suillius.jpg

Starting off the walk there was a large patch of sphagnum moss with a bunch of these little blue mushrooms popping out. Not sure what they are, somebody called them "bluets" but I can't find the scientific name to attach to them.
bluets.jpg

Of course there was my favorite, the Amanita. They were plentiful. The one below is called the Poison Champagne Amanita, Amanita crenulata. It has a faint ring, rounded bulb at the base, light tan/brown cap (champagne color??), etc.
amanita2.jpg

We found some Shiny Cinnamon Polypores (Coltricia cinnamomea) growing from the soil. They are shiny and velvety on top with a rooting stipe and many pores on the undersurface.
coltricia1.jpg

It was great habitat for fungi with a lot of small ponds and downed logs. One log in particular had hundreds of mushrooms sprouting from it. These were the Xeromphalina campanella)
xeromphalina.jpg
Below I think are a type of "bonnet" or Mycena but I am not sure.
mush1.jpg

I took some time to enjoy this particular Cortinarius iodes. I didn't lick its slimy cap, though that is the only macroscopic way to differentiate it from an identical species from what I researched. Maybe next time. >.>
cortinarius2.jpg

Heading back to the table with our discoveries...

20210919_121240.jpg

20210919_123718.jpg
Above, holding the Destroying Angel.
20210919_122543.jpg

20210919_132855.jpg

20210919_132859.jpg

Happy hunting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency