Fungi For FungiFriday!

IMG_1446.JPG

The Fungi ..

~ Name and Species Unknown Location: Southern New Jersey USA

I was strolling along .. next to a structure today, when I notice a few of these little guys. I don't typically write about mushrooms or fungi, but thought why not?!. I always see neat posts in this Fungi Lover's community, and thought this would be the perfect place for this post.

I found this little beauty.. hanging out under the edges of a bush in a very damp part of the landscape. Even though it just rained the night before, thanks to Tropical Storm Elsa, the area seems like it would have been damp regardless. There was a thick carpet of moss stretching this way and that for a good distance. This bright orange fungi seemed quite happy planting itself here among the brightly colored green mosses.

IMG_1449.JPG

I know next to nothing about Fungi .. So I will be of no help what so ever when it comes to identifying this little orange mass. It caught my eye, that is for certain. Does anyone know what this may be called? Obviously I know that it can be difficult to key this out without a lot more information. I didn't want to dig it out, so I can't help you with stems or what not.

Upon closer inspection .. It almost seems as though there are stems under the orange tops. The tops seem to have grown together into one mass as well. I didn't smell it or taste it, because I am not into poisoning myself today or tomorrow or the next day. I am happy just enjoying it from a distance.

IMG_1448.JPG

IMG_1446 (2).JPG

IMG_1447.JPG

I also found a few growing at the base of a piece of wood, that appeared to be some sort of railroad tie or something like that. I noticed lots of organic matter for them to grow in, so that also makes perfect sense to me why they would be found here. The perfect little micro environment for them.

IMG_1450.JPG

Sorry that my find is not super exciting .. but I figured the members of the community would appreciate it just the same. I may poke around the internet to see if I can find out what this is, for curiosity reasons.

Hive text divider.png

456456546456456.jpg

“The best thing for being sad," replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, "is to learn something. That's the only thing that never fails. You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake at night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world about you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honors trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then — to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting. Learning is the only thing for you. Look what a lot of things there are to learn.”
― T.H. White, The Once and Future King

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency