[EN/ES] Why we need a break / Por qué necesitamos un descanso

break5.png

Hi, today I want to share some of my thoughts with you about motherhood and parenting in general.

I have an amazing, sleeping, eating and playing boy which at least I've noticed a lot of people envy me for. Going out to the playground we run into at least one or two moms who have older kids and we share how the kids are, are they sleeping or eating or are they fussy about food. When I have shared with them moments from the little one's life they have said that they envy me because their children were very boisterous and refused anything, leaving them awake for whole evenings.

break_4.png

I'm not a single mom, I live with my son's father, but his job involves a lot of stress, hours of carrying tons of products and driving a sometimes overloaded truck and I'm scared of hitting a person or a car because it will completely ruin the car and the person on the spot will die. So for myself, I've decided to give whatever I can to the child in terms of attention and daily needs so that he has a happy childhood and his father when he has the strength to pitch in as well.

When he was just a little baby, I have had many occasions when I carried him in my arms for 3-4 hours in the middle of the night, hugging him because he was restless, nervous or he was just a little baby who maybe was afraid of everything and only past his mother calmed down.

It was hard, I won't deny it, but I always said everything was fine, the little one even if he slept for 2-3 hours in the evening I said he slept well. I won't comment on the food because he's been a glutton since he was a newborn baby and he's looking for his own.

break3.png

What I've read a year and a bit ago now is that many mothers after a baby comes into their home and their lives, because of sleep deprivation and not knowing and tiredness from the incessant screaming, fall into a moment of depression. They start to feel frustrated that this toddler is with them 24 hours a day and they drift away from friends and all the activities that were once interesting and enjoyable to them.

break2.png

I probably had that moment too, but since I'm not one to complain about things I experienced it myself. Even having someone by my side (and the little one's dad spent over 12 hours at work and we actually stayed awake with him for between 2 and 3 hours, and during those hours he would shower. eat and possibly tell 2-3 stories and be ready to fall right asleep while talking to me) didn't calm me down.

I've had many days when everything has come to me more. I couldn't get any sleep, I was in pain from the c-section for a long time but no one understood, because of my very physique I had pain in my back, lower back, arms and legs. I spent many days with teary eyes or outright crying, but the times when I was away from the child and they were asleep in the other room. I didn't want my pain or discomfort to trigger any such feelings or ennoyments in him - so he is a pure soul who gives and wants to receive only love.

break6.png

Not everyone has the opportunity to live in the same town with their parents or their partner's parents to have any help or support even for a few hours a week.

Why do we need a break for a moment or a reboot?

Letting all the stress of having this new little person in our lives build up inside of us. We each need to find something that reduces that stress, makes it feel good even when you are worn to the limit. don't pass your anxiety on to your child because they can't handle that stress. He's already stressed enough because he's already out of his mother's warm womb and only has to deal with seemingly simple processes like breathing, swallowing, and moving that we're showing him there are more things that can stress him out.

I can't hide it, I've had moments where tears have flowed in front of him out of pain, but I've been all smiles, even pretending I wanted him to see that I was tired, sad, or had something. I wanted him to be happy and calm.

img_0.6095575152676292.jpg

I found, or more accurately rediscovered, a hobby of mine that I still practice - crochet. In the moments when I have felt it coming more I have gripped the knitting and focused on counting the individual stitches. At first I was doing it wrong, my fingers and various joints hurt because I wasn't gripping the crochet hook the right way, but I learned how to do things the right way. I managed to make a few Amigurumi and various small accessories.

I managed to get out of depression!

break5.png

Hola, hoy quiero compartir con vosotros algunas de mis reflexiones sobre la maternidad y la crianza en general.

Tengo un niño increíble, que duerme, come y juega, lo que al menos he notado que mucha gente me envidia. Saliendo al patio nos encontramos con al menos una o dos mamás que tienen hijos mayores y compartimos cómo están los niños, si duermen o comen o si son quisquillosos con la comida. Cuando he compartido con ellas momentos de la vida del pequeño me han dicho que me envidian porque sus hijos eran muy bulliciosos y se negaban a todo, dejándolos despiertos durante tardes enteras.

break_4.png

No soy madre soltera, vivo con el padre de mi hijo, pero su trabajo conlleva mucho estrés, horas de cargar toneladas de productos y conducir un camión a veces sobrecargado y me da miedo atropellar a una persona o un coche porque se estropearía completamente el coche y la persona que estuviera en el lugar moriría. Así que, por mi parte, he decidido dar todo lo que pueda al niño en términos de atención y necesidades diarias para que tenga una infancia feliz y su padre, cuando tenga fuerzas, también arrimará el hombro.

Cuando era sólo un bebé, he tenido muchas ocasiones en las que lo he llevado en brazos durante 3-4 horas en mitad de la noche, abrazado a él porque estaba inquieto, nervioso o era sólo un bebé pequeño que quizás tenía miedo de todo y sólo pasaba de que su madre se calmara.

Fue duro, no lo voy a negar, pero siempre dije que todo estaba bien, el pequeño aunque durmiera 2-3 horas por la noche decía que dormía bien. De la comida no voy a comentar nada porque es un glotón desde recién nacido y busca lo suyo.

break3.png

Lo que he leído hace un año y pico es que muchas madres después de que llega un bebé a su casa y a su vida, por la falta de sueño y el desconocimiento y el cansancio por los gritos incesantes, caen en un momento de depresión. Empiezan a sentirse frustradas por el hecho de que ese niño esté con ellas las 24 horas del día y se alejan de los amigos y de todas las actividades que antes les resultaban interesantes y agradables.

Probablemente yo también tuve ese momento, pero como no soy de las que se quejan de las cosas lo viví en carne propia. Ni siquiera tener a alguien a mi lado (y el padre del pequeño pasaba más de 12 horas en el trabajo y realmente nos quedábamos despiertos con él entre 2 y 3 horas, y durante esas horas se duchaba. comía y posiblemente contaba 2-3 cuentos y estaba listo para dormirse enseguida mientras hablaba conmigo) me calmaba.

He tenido muchos días en los que todo me ha venido más. No podía dormir, me dolía la cesárea durante mucho tiempo pero nadie lo entendía, por mi mismo físico me dolía la espalda, la zona lumbar, los brazos y las piernas. Pasé muchos días con los ojos llorosos o directamente llorando, pero las veces que estaba lejos del niño y ellos dormían en la otra habitación. No quería que mi dolor o malestar desencadenara en él esos sentimientos o alegrías, pues es un alma pura que sólo da y quiere recibir amor.

No todo el mundo tiene la oportunidad de vivir en la misma ciudad con sus padres o los de su pareja para tener ayuda o apoyo aunque sea unas horas a la semana.

¿Por qué necesitamos un descanso por un momento o un reinicio?

Por dejar que todo el estrés de tener a esta nueva personita en nuestras vidas se acumule en nuestro interior. Cada uno de nosotros necesita encontrar algo que reduzca ese estrés, que lo haga sentir bien incluso cuando está agotado hasta el límite. No transmitas tu ansiedad a tu hijo porque no puede manejar ese estrés. Ya está suficientemente estresado porque ya ha salido del cálido vientre de su madre y sólo tiene que lidiar con procesos aparentemente sencillos como respirar, tragar y moverse como para que le enseñemos que hay más cosas que pueden estresarle.

No puedo ocultarlo, he tenido momentos en los que se me han saltado las lágrimas delante de él por el dolor, pero he sido todo sonrisas, incluso he fingido que quería que viera que estaba cansada, triste o que tenía algo. Quería que estuviera contento y tranquilo.

img_0.6095575152676292.jpg

¡Conseguí salir de la depresión!

The used images in this article have been created via Canva
All the images or some of them in this article are from this website. All Content on Pixabay is free to use for commercial and non-commercial purposes - Check the license

4.png

Thank you for reading and have a gorgeous day!


¡Gracias por leer y que tengas un magnífico día!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency