[Eng||Spn] Being the middle child (is it enough to be diagnosed with a syndrome?).

Hi dear Mom and dad!!


Mi picioso.jpg



When I was in college I had a classmate who told me that "if there was one thing wrong, it was being the middle child. You're not big enough, you're not little enough, you're just in the middle, like on Wednesday". I remember his dad being overly affectionate with his older brother, saying he would be just like him when he grew up and things like that and the younger one being spoilt by his mum, I mean, it really made him feel like he was "IN THE MIDDLE". Many times I thought, "when I become a mother, I'll try not to make a difference between my children or I'd better just have one and avoid that headache". Definitely, to be able to talk about a subject, you must necessarily have knowledge of it or ... live the experience!

Cuando estaba en al universidad tenía un compañero de clases que me decía que "si había algo malo, eso era ser el hermano del medio. No eres suficientemente grande, tampoco eres pequeño, sólo estás en el medio, como el día miércoles". Recuerdo que su papá era excesivamente cariñoso con su hermano mayor, decía que sería igual a él cuando fuera mayor y cosas como esas y el menor el el consentido de su mamá, o sea, realmente le hacían sentir que estaba "EN EL MEDIO". Muchas veces pensé, "cuando sea mamá, trataré de no marcar diferencia entre mis hijos o mejor sólo tengo uno y me evito ese dolor de cabeza". Definitivamente, para poder hablar sobre un tema, necesariamente debes tener conocimiento del mismo o ...vivir la experiencia!!


mis hijos 119.jpg

I had my first daughter and 6 years later my second son came along and everything was going well. Ten years went by, my eldest daughter was 15 and my son was 10 and I got pregnant again. I remember that my older children were very happy and on several occasions they said they wanted the time to be shortened to have the new baby between them and the excitement increased when they found out that they would be twins.

Tuve mi primera hija y 6 años después llegó mi segundo hijo y todo marchaba. Pasaron 10 años, mi hija mayor tenía 15 años y mi hijo 10 y quedé nuevamente embarazada. Recuerdo que mis hijos mayores estaban super contentos y en varias ocasiones manifestaron querer que el tiempo se acortara para tener al nuevo bebé entre ellos y la emoción aumento, cuando supieron que serían gemelos.


IMG0979A.jpg


Time went by and the children's development process went from strength to strength. For my eldest daughter, the babies were like her children, but for my son Christian, the twins were taking up all his mother's time. For him, the 5th and 6th grades of primary school were his strongest years "mommy didn't have time to help him with homework like in previous years" however, he never said anything to me, because "I was busy all the time with the twins".

The last term of 6th grade, I could not attend the parents' meetings for the organisation of the promotion party. Once when I was going through his notebooks, "something I hadn't done for several weeks", there was a note from his teacher that said something like:

"Ms. Representative, I would like to have a meeting with you. Christian's performance has decreased and this is a shame because he is an excellent student" (The note was a week old in his notebook and I hadn't read it!!!).
I called my son and asked him why he hadn't told me about the note and he answered: "Because you weren't going to go, because you were busy with the twins". Wow! I hugged him and asked for forgiveness and he cried with me. I promised him that he would never feel lonely again and that he had to promise me in return that he would talk to me about everything that happened at school and around him and that he wouldn't leave anything out, even if I was busy, as I had always been.


Pasó el tiempo y en la misma medida el proceso de desarrollo de los niños iba viento en popa. Para mi hija mayor, los bebés eran como sus hijos, sin embargo para mi hijo Christian, los gemelos estaban tomando todo el tiempo de su mamá. Para él, el 5to y 6to grados de primaria fueron sus años más fuertes "mamá no tenía tiempo para ayudarle a hacer la tarea como en años anteriores" sin embargo, él nunca me decía nada, porque "me veía ocupada todo el tiempo con los gemelos".
El último lapso del 6to grado, no pude asistir a las reuniones de padres para la organización de la fiesta de promoción al primer año de bachillerato. Una vez revisando sus cuadernos "algo que no hacía en varias semanas" había una nota de su maestra que decía algo así como:

"Sra. representante quisiera tener una reunión con usted. Christian ha desmejorado su rendimiento y esto es una pena porque él es un estudiante excelente" (La nota tenía una semana en su cuaderno y yo no la había leído!!!)
Llamé a mi hijo y le pregunté por qué no me había dicho nada de la nota y él me respondió: "Porque tu no ibas a ir, porque estabas ocupada con los gemelos". Caramba!! , no saben cuánto lloré, lo abrace y le pedí perdón y él lloraba conmigo. Le prometí que más Nunca volvería a sentirse solo y que me tenía que prometer a cambio, que hablaría conmigo todo lo sucediera tanto en la escuela como a su alrededor y no omitiría nada, así me viera ocupada, como había sido siempre.


197984_1676117656834_1054233194_31508700_85539_n.jpg

If we review the concept of "Syndrome " (as they wanted to call the accumulation of feelings and emotions that a child who feels lonely goes through) we will realise that it is not really related:

"A set of symptoms that occur together and are characteristic of a particular disease or pathological condition caused, sometimes, by the concurrence of more than one disease."

My grandmother used to say "a word to the wise, a few words" and I add to this that there are behaviours, attitudes that are the product of deficiencies that speak for themselves and that sometimes we want to disguise them with medical names and fancy phrases to give them an explanation without thinking that the only and simple explanation they have is a desperate cry for Attention and Love.


Si revisamos el concepto de "Síndrome" (como han querido llamar al cúmulo de sentimientos y emociones por las que atraviesa un niño que se siente solo) nos daremos cuenta que realmente no tiene relación:

Conjunto de síntomas que se presentan juntos y son característicos de una enfermedad o de un cuadro patológico determinado provocado, en ocasiones, por la concurrencia de más de una enfermedad.
Mi abuela solía decir "al buen entendedor,pocas palabras" y yo añado a esto que, hay comportamientos, actitudes producto de carencias que hablan por síi solas y que a veces se les quiere disfrazar con nombres médicos, frases rebuscadas para darles una explicación sin pensar que la única y sencilla explicación que tienen es un grito desesperado por Atención y Amor.


moro2.jpg

The guardian of his brothers



con chris.png

My Son

Thanks for your visit!!

imagen.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency