My Spotify 2022 Wrapped is finally here

thumbnail.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

This is what I've been listening to this year 🎧

I really enjoy sifting through stats and data, as long as it's organized. The end of each year is a perfect time to go over what has happened in the previous 365 days. That means that now is the perfect time to discuss what I've been vibing out to in 2022.

I really love how Spotify does "Spotify Wrapped" towards the end of each year. If you use Spotify, then you definitely need to check it out. Just visit https://www.spotify.com/us/wrapped/ to get started.

I love doing these types of blogs not only to share with everyone here on Hive but also so I can go back down the road and look at how things were going for me. You can do the same if you'd like.


Here are my Spotify Wrapped posts for the previous two years:

Spotify Wrapped 2020

Spotify Wrapped 2021


My total minutes listened in 2022 is up from last year, but still below where I was in 2020. In 2022 I listened to approximately 280 hours of music on Spotify, that's 16,857 minutes total.

1.jpg

I love many types of music, but my favorite genre is EDM (Electronic Dance Music). Within that realm of sound exists loads of sub-genres. I don't keep up with all of the different names of sub-genres, but I know I love Dubstep. Evidently I also really enjoy Experimental Bass, Electro House, and Traprun. Of course, I still listen to some hip-hop here and there too. Although not on this list, I occasionally throw on some heavy metal or classical music. That's mostly what my taste consists of.

2.jpg

I'm not surprised at all that Izzy Vadim's song "STYROFOAM RIDDIM" was my most listened to. Riddim is a subgenre of EDM known for its heavy use of repetitive and minimalist sub-bass and triplet percussion arrangements. I'm honestly surprised that riddim was not included in my top genres. This particular song was at the beginning of one of my favorite gym playlists. I can remember lifting weights with this song pounding in my headphones many times, evidently 23 times to be exact. There are so many unique sounds in this one and the bass is on point as usual.

3.jpg

Have a listen:

I am listening to new music every week, so it's hard for me to increase the listen count for one song very high. As you can see, nearly 2,000 songs last year alone! I rely on Spotify's Release Radar every Friday to help me keep up with all of the new music that releases.

4.jpg

My top 5 songs were not a surprise to me either. Each of these next songs are ones that I can hear playing in my head right now. These are all such bangers. The first 4 are EDM, but the last one is from my favorite hip-hop artist. I'll have each song below if you want to see what it sounds like.

5.jpg

Here they are:

I am not obsessed with one particular artist. I prefer to include many different artists in my rotation. This past year I nearly managed to listen to 1,000 different artists. It amazes me how much talent there is out there in the world.

6.jpg

Although I would struggle to pick a favorite artist, these Spotify stats selected one for me. It turns out that Lit Lords are my most listened to. This used to be a duo, but the second guy hasn't been around for a few years. There was a multi-month period this year in which Lit Lords released a new song every single week. In total, I think Lit Lords unleashed about 40 singles this year and every single one of them was a banger.

7.jpg

This is the first part of the review that I was genuinely surprised about. I figured Meechy Darko would be high on my list since I listened to his debut solo album "Gothic Luxury" countless times. Hi I'm Ghost, sure they are somebody I listen to a lot, but I didn't know they'd be third. I really did not expect to see Rezz and Killswitch Engage in my top 5. I guess Rezz just released a lot of music this year and her albums have a lot of songs. Rezz's "Spiral" album was actually the first album I listened to in 2022.

Killswitch Engage is a band that I loved when I was younger. I stopped listening to them when their former lead singer Howard Jones left. I prefered his sound and decided to move on, plus I barely listen to metal at all compared to back in the day. I guess I had a nostalgic week or two where I listened to those old albums at the gym and it shows since Killswitch flew into my top 5.

8.jpg

For this next bit of stats, I used another tool that I found online to uncover even more details about what I've been listening to. This list of 38 artists is who I've listened to the most in the past 6 months. I highly recommend anybody on this list.

6 months.jpg

The music-listening personality type that was given to me was "The Adventurer. It says I value exploration, newness, variety, and uniqueness. I 100% agree with that and I think you will too after everything I've talked about in this post so far.

9.jpg

That's all I've got for you today. Now you know exactly what I listen to every day when I go to the gym. I like to blast music on my Bose speaker while I'm in the shower, but usually, I just listen at the gym. I occasionally throw on some music while I'm playing PS5 or working on my iMac, but that doesn't happen very often.

10.jpg

Thanks for checking out my taste in music and let me know if you have any questions about EDM. Remember that you can always post to the Hive EDM Community if you too love this type of music.




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

My NFTs: @daltono/nfts

Daltono Ocean God.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️My YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency