Becoming and Staying Financially Secure - My Journey | Day 15 of 30-DAY #BLOGGING CHALLENGE - Part 3 | [ENG/SPAN]

30-Day Blogging Challenge-Part3-Day 15.png

Hello everyone and welcome back to my 30-Day Blogging Challenge, Part 3 participation. Today is an exciting topic I love to discuss...financial independence.

In today's challenge, we're asked, if you are financially secure, how did you become so?

To start, I can tell you that for me, secure mean to be steady, tight, not in disarray or swaying, and not to be lost. All the term means is "stability." And financial stability or financially secure doesn't happen overnight. Unless you win the lottery or inherits quite a substantial sum from family or relatives, the chances are you won't become financially secure unless you plan for it.

The question was whether I was financially secure, and if so, how did I become that way? My answer is YES, and my solution was simple, easy, and practical in theory. However, accomplishing it was nothing short of extremely hard work and being goal driven.

idea-1855599_640.jpg
Image created by geralt at Pixabay

Become financially educated

First, I believe this is the most important step. My parents told me when I was young that any fool can make money. But it takes smarts to keep and grow it.* I didn't really understand what they meant at the time. However, they stressed the need to read and learn all we could about how to handle money and finances. This encouragement from my parents has always stuck with me.

When I was a teen, I knew about investing, stocks, and bonds. It was just a fact of life that our family didn't have the resources to invest. But one day I knew I would, and I'd be ready.

In the early 80s, I discovered DRIPs. These are Dividend Re-Investment Plans. The financial markets had finally opened up to allow for direct purchase of stocks for well-known companies. No longer were you required to open a brokerage account. This was the news I'd been waiting for. I joined about 10 DRIPS. Within the year, I owned stocks of participating major corporations. I still own those stocks. By holding those stocks, other investment opportunities arose through either mergers, acquisitions, or spin-offs.

Pay Yourself First

I was always taught to pay myself first. To me that means saving in any form. Then, if I need some money for a rainy day, borrow from myself instead of others or financial institutions. I can pay myself back with no interest. That's a saving in itself. It also means you have to develop a budget so that you know how much you can save on a regular basis. Then put it away first. The easiest way I found was to have the money automatically withdrawn and sent to a separate savings account.

Develop a financial plan and budget

When I was young just starting in the workforce, I always wanted to save money, have enough for my monthly household needs, then extra as family entertainment. However, it didn't work out as the stress of home ownership weighed heavily. Then, monthly installment on credit, purchasing vehicles, and household expenses stretched my budget to the limit and left little to save for unexpected emergencies.

I had to decide what was more important...buying the latest new car and fashions and other unnecessary items, or staying within my budget I'd set. After five years of no savings, I decided that planning for our children's higher education expenses was more important. I did the following:

  • Set a monthly budget for household expenses, and stuck to it;
  • Set up an automatic transfer to a separate account;
  • Forwarded money to separate education accounts for all children; and
  • Planned extra curricula activities in accordance with remaining monies.

Not only was it a stressful time, but job security factored into the equation. I couldn't think or plan for the future. I was too busy living in the present. But I had to stop and look at my financial situation. And it was not good. I had no extra funds left each month and none saved for unexpected expenses. That is more stressful and may cause your health and well being to suffer. Once I realized what was happening, I had to make a change. My actions above helped me to gain financial independence.

Take advantage of matching funds

Once I started working, I didn't immediately invest in my company's savings and retirement plan. I knew I should. I was focused on having extra funds to do other fun activities.

If you're lucky enough to be employed with a company that will pay you to save, then do so without hesitation. It's called Company Matching. Once I joined my company's matching 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan, my money grew quickly each year.

Plan and set Goals

No matter what type of budget you create, you have to set out a specific plan of action for any additional funds left over. For example, if you have credit card debt, you can decide to pay it off within a specific time frame. The same goes for other installment payments, such as automobiles.

In order to be able to live comfortably and not stress about your finances, you have to manage your time, resources, and your assets.

text16.png
Olá a todos e bem-vindos de volta ao meu Blogging Challenge de 30 Dias, participação na Parte 3. Hoje é um tema excitante que adoro discutir...independência financeira.

No desafio de hoje, perguntam-nos, se está financeiramente seguro, como se tornou assim?

Para começar, posso dizer-vos que para mim, seguro significa estar firme, apertado, não em desordem ou oscilação, e não estar perdido. Tudo o que o termo significa é "estabilidade". E estabilidade financeira ou financeiramente segura não acontece da noite para o dia. A menos que ganhe a lotaria ou herde uma soma substancial da família ou parentes, as hipóteses são de não se tornar financeiramente seguro, a menos que planeie fazê-lo.

A questão era se eu estava financeiramente seguro, e se sim, como é que me tornei assim? A minha resposta é Sim, e a minha solução foi simples, fácil, e prática em teoria. No entanto, realizá-la não foi nada menos do que um trabalho extremamente árduo e ser guiado por objectivos.

Ensino financeiramente educado*

Em primeiro lugar, creio que este é o passo mais importante. Os meus pais disseram-me quando eu era jovem que qualquer idiota pode ganhar dinheiro. Mas é preciso smarts para o manter e crescer.* Na altura, não percebi bem o que queriam dizer. No entanto, eles sublinharam a necessidade de ler e aprender tudo o que pudéssemos sobre como lidar com dinheiro e finanças. Este encorajamento dos meus pais sempre se manteve comigo.

Quando eu era adolescente, sabia sobre investimento, acções e títulos. Era apenas um facto da vida que a nossa família não tinha os recursos para investir. Mas um dia eu sabia que o faria, e que estaria pronto.

No início dos anos 80, descobri os DRIPs. Estes são Planos de Re-Investimento de Dividendos. Os mercados financeiros tinham finalmente se aberto para permitir a compra directa de acções para empresas bem conhecidas. Já não era necessário abrir uma conta de corretagem. Esta era a notícia de que eu estava à espera. Juntei-me a cerca de 10 DRIPS. Durante o ano, fui proprietário de acções de grandes empresas participantes. Ainda possuo essas acções. Ao deter essas acções, surgiram outras oportunidades de investimento através de fusões, aquisições, ou cisões.

Pague-se primeiro*

Fui sempre ensinado a pagar-me primeiro. Para mim, isso significa poupar sob qualquer forma. Depois, se eu precisar de algum dinheiro para um dia chuvoso, pedir emprestado a mim próprio em vez de outros ou instituições financeiras. Posso pagar-me a mim próprio sem juros. Isso é uma poupança em si mesmo. Significa também que tem de desenvolver um orçamento para que saiba quanto pode poupar regularmente. Depois, guarde-o primeiro. A maneira mais fácil que encontrei foi ter o dinheiro automaticamente levantado e enviado para uma conta poupança separada.

Desenvolver um plano financeiro e um orçamento*.

Quando eu era jovem e estava a começar a trabalhar, sempre quis poupar dinheiro, ter o suficiente para as minhas necessidades domésticas mensais, depois extra como entretenimento familiar. No entanto, não resultou, uma vez que o stress da propriedade da casa pesava muito. Depois, a prestação mensal a crédito, a compra de veículos, e as despesas domésticas esticaram o meu orçamento até ao limite e deixaram pouco para poupar em situações de emergência inesperadas.

Tive de decidir o que era mais importante...comprar o último carro novo, a moda e outros artigos desnecessários, ou ficar dentro do meu orçamento que tinha estabelecido. Após cinco anos sem poupanças, decidi que o planeamento das despesas com o ensino superior dos nossos filhos era mais importante. Fiz o seguinte:

  • Estabeleci um orçamento mensal para despesas domésticas, e mantive-me fiel a ele;
  • Estabeleci uma transferência automática para uma conta separada;
  • Encaminhar dinheiro para contas separadas para a educação de todas as crianças; e
  • Actividades curriculares adicionais planeadas de acordo com o dinheiro restante.

Não só foi um período stressante, como também a segurança no emprego foi incluída na equação. Não consegui pensar ou planear o futuro. Eu estava demasiado ocupado a viver no presente. Mas tive de parar e olhar para a minha situação financeira. E não era bom. Já não tinha fundos extra todos os meses e nenhum poupava para despesas inesperadas. Isso é mais stressante e pode fazer sofrer a sua saúde e bem estar. Quando me apercebi do que estava a acontecer, tive de fazer uma mudança. As minhas acções acima mencionadas ajudaram-me a ganhar independência financeira.

Tirar vantagem de fundos correspondentes*.

Assim que comecei a trabalhar, não investi imediatamente nas poupanças e no plano de reforma da minha empresa. Eu sabia que devia. Estava concentrado em ter fundos extra para fazer outras actividades divertidas.

Se tiver a sorte de estar empregado numa empresa que lhe pagará para poupar, então faça-o sem hesitar. Chama-se Company Matching. Assim que me juntei ao Plano de Poupança para a Reforma 401(k) da minha empresa, o meu dinheiro cresceu rapidamente todos os anos.

Planear e estabelecer objectivos*.

Independentemente do tipo de orçamento que crie, tem de estabelecer um plano de acção específico para quaisquer fundos adicionais que sobram. Por exemplo, se tiver dívidas de cartão de crédito, pode decidir pagá-las dentro de um período de tempo específico. O mesmo se aplica a outros pagamentos em prestações, tais como automóveis.

Para poder viver confortavelmente e não stressar as suas finanças, tem de gerir o seu tempo, os seus recursos e os seus bens.

text16.png

Thank you for taking the time to read my topic for today. I've set out above how I became financially secure. Are you financially secure? If so, I'd like to know the secret to your success. I'm sure others would like to know too. Just leave me a comment below.

30-Day Blog Challenge-PART 3.png

Follow my 30-Day Blogging Challenge below:
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10
Day 11
Day 12
Day 13
Day 14

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my Day 15 of the 30-Day Blogging Challenge [Part 3] post today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SilverBloggersLogo.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
h) Sandwiteer of March 2021 Banner earned by me as winner of the March, 2021 B.I.S.S. Sandwich Contest.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency