Trip to Ly Son Gem Island- Day 1

Since being on the hive blog, I love to write about my travel experiences and share beautiful images of my country through my camera angle. I am a person who likes moving and exploring unspoiled lands. Sometimes I travel alone, and sometimes with my friends or family.

My today's post is about the trip with my friends to Quang Ngai city. Quang Ngai is a coastal province in the south-central region, with a harsh climate. This place is famous for the Dung Quat oil refinery, the local garlic, Ly Son island,... Today I would like to take you to Ly Son Island District. To get here, we have to go in the speed boat. Since this was my first trip in 2014 and then I was back here in 2018 again, there were so many memories and I still want to visit the island again.

image.png

image.png

image.png

I traveled from Da Nang to Quang Ngai by my motorbike with a distance of 140km in 4 hours of driving. I stayed in the city for one night to wait for our boat schedule to the Ly Son island on the morning the next day. We went out for a short walk and tried some local specialties. Then going home and seeing early as I set an alarm at 5:30 am to wake up and get ready for the trip. The ticket price to the island is 170k in 2018 (~8USD), and there are 6 trips every day between the mainland and Ly Son island. I choose the earliest trip at 7:30 as I wanted to have more time to spend on the island.

image.png

View from our homestay

It was our first time moving by speedy boat on the beach, so the two of us were seasick. However, when we set up the foot on the island, we both were very excited. The water is so clear that I can even saw many small fishes floating in the bottom. Our stay on the island was 2 days and 1 night, so we took advantage of it, done the check-in quickly and rent a motorbike to roam around. The island is very small so easy to move by motorbike and find all the must-see destinations.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Our first search is to HANG CAU. The cave locates under the foot of Thoi Loi mountain, it can be eroded by waves and sea breezes and carved deep into the mountain to form a wide cave. Because the island is formed from a volcano in the past, there are still traces on the cliffs of black rocks and beautiful black corals under the sea.

After that we went to the gently hang Cau pagoda in the southeast of the island, the temple is located in a cave at the foot of Thoi Loi mountain. Nestling inside the cave, the atmosphere in the temple is cool all year round. It was interesting to enter inside and

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

In the afternoon, we decided to visit CONG TO VO. Because it was still quite sunny before sunset so we looked behind the archway there was a high mountain and we climbed that point to see the whole arch to see the view of the whole curious area and when the sun started to calm down with the people we went down to catch the last rays of the day. The gate is about 2.5 m high, formed from the eruption of the volcano millions of years ago.

Around the gate, there are shiny black lava rocks with strange shapes hidden in the clear water. They look really stunning. We sat here enjoying the beautiful sunset until it got dark.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

On the first day, we visited a lot of places and were very satisfied. At night, we bought seafood right at the archway gate and brought back the homestay to cook. The seafood was here was cheap and fresh. After having dinner, we walked around to chill and got back to the homestay to rest and sleep early for the adventure tomorrow. I'm actually sleepy now after a day going out. I will continue to write the story of our on the island tomorrow.

Those old photos taken by flycam djl mavic air 1 and canon 600d (lens 18-55 mm)

Thank you for reading my article and good night.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency