Husky mushing on a warm climate South African beach? - What have you been smoking Larry?

22.jpg

This is a contribution to #Wenesdaywalk and #Makemesmile amazingly hosted by @tattoodjay & @elizacheng.

For years one of my dreams near the top of my bucket list has been to go to Alaska to see the country, witness the way of life in such a hugely different climate & setting to ours in South Africa and especially to witness the Northern Lights, their nature and husky mushing (dog sledding.) About a year ago I got to witness a partial idea of what Husky mushing must be like to see......

I was doing my daily (whenever possible) visit to one of the two local beaches in my hometown, Muizenberg, that is called Sunrise beach when my totally unexpected/ unbelievable at first experience happened......

Surfers corner.jpg
The main part of Muizenbergs long beach which is called "Surfers Corner" with "Sunrise Beach" in the background about a kilometre away (0,621 miles).

Growing up in Muizenberg I have always had a love of the ocean and have spent countless hours surfing and diving with a fondness for all ocean/ water sports. I also love all animals. While sitting at Sunrise Beach on the day mentioned above I saw a chap arrive in his bakkie (pickup). He proceeded to pull a very long strap/ harness "thingy" out of the back of it and then lay it across the sand. My initial thoughts of kitesurfing went out the window and I was intrigued to see if it was for some water or beach activity that I somehow didn't know about. On to the next part........

1a.jpg

All of a sudden a vehicle arrived next to mine with three beautiful Huskies that were obviously incredibly excited to be at the beach and couldn't wait to get out (they truly are beautiful animals). It gave me a warm smile seeing them.

Over the next ten minutes a number of vehicles arrived from which Huskies sprung out of all around me. Whoah, double bonus afternoon I thought to myself.....all these Huskies are obviously gathering here for some reason and I am also going to separately see an unknown watersport.

A few minutes later it all fell into place.....the huskies were led to the "watersports strap" and one by one were strapped in.
For the love of pizza what is going on I wondered to myself???
Then I suddenly saw a canvas bucket seat "sled" at the back end of the long strap "thingy" and the light bulb came on in my brain......I was about to witness a form of mushing.

I later found out that the organizer heads up a non profit/ self funded & volunteered organisation that helps rescue mistreated Huskies and rehomes them into caring & loving homes instead. Definately my kind of human!
He organises and sets up this weekly event for any Husky parent to bring their "kids" down for the occasion for free. The "kids" clearly all enjoyed the outing to the beach, the interaction with others and the exercise.

If I hadn't by shear chance personally witnessed it that day and someone had told me that Husky mushing happens on my home beach then I probably would have asked them what type of lettuce leaf they had been smoking in the cuckoo's nest???

2.jpg

3.jpg

5.jpg

These days I get updates from the organization and decided to head down last Sunday to experience this weekends' "run".
The above photos are some of the Huskies arriving and initially just enjoying being out at the beach.

11.jpg

4.jpg

6.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

Above they are being strapped in and one can clearly see the happiness and excitement.

20.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

And off they go in great excitement. The organisers son sprints ahead the whole way (about 35 minutes) with the leading dogs to guide them and ensure no injuries or entanglement of the dogs. Dam I wish I was that fit again.
Alaska and the northern lights are still up there on my bucket list of dreams but at least I now have a personal smidgen of an idea of seeing mushing :)
[//]:# (!pinmapple -34.107618 lat 18.468737 long muizenberg d3scr)
All the photos used above were taken by myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency