Big Castle in a Small Village

Agushevi Konatsi or Agha Konaks in the Bulgarian mountain village of Mogilitsa have their analogue in those small villages in Belgium with large beautiful castles. The disproportion is striking.

IMG_8662.jpg

And although I repeat myself, I will not tire of saying how beautiful and unusual this buildings are.

IMG_8661.jpg

I have not traveled Bulgaria far and wide, but I have lived in several Bulgarian cities and still visited many sights and I can say that I have not seen many such buildings built by the Ottomans in our lands during their 5-century rule here.

Please correct me if I'm wrong but Bulgaria is not Andalusia, Venice or any other European region where the Muslim invaders had left their amazingly beautiful architecture, architectural influence and cultural heritage.

I don't know many heritage pieces left by those people in our land, except for the konaks and some mosques.

Besides, it is still debated by historians and scholars whether we have lived for 5 centuries under Ottoman rule or at Ottoman "presence" and whether the atrocities committed by them and described in the books are false or true.

I prefer not to think about it, but to live in the present, where I can enjoy the few beautiful things of this age:

IMG_8629.jpg

IMG_8621.jpg

IMG_8620.jpg

IMG_8614.jpg

IMG_8641.jpg

IMG_8639.jpg

IMG_8628.jpg

IMG_8616.jpg

IMG_8605.jpg

IMG_8595.jpg

IMG_8610.jpg

IMG_8612.jpg

IMG_8596.jpg

IMG_8613.jpg

The traditional regional architecture is also something that amazes me here. For example, this is a stone that is traditionally placed on chimneys:

IMG_8585.jpg

You can see it here:

IMG_8649.jpg

I hope you liked this place!

Copyright: @soulsdetour

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency