Share Our World: Dead Horse State Park

What a cool State Park! We were in Southern Utah see the National Parks I am so glad that @jarvie took us to other cool places like Goblin Valley and Dead Horse State Park.

Just look at the geology! @eolinde what do you think?

Dead Horse State Park

For one of the #photogames I had people tell a story about why it is called Dead Horse State Park. Here is a link to that post if you are as interested in the name as I am.

This is the first view you see coming from the parking lot.

There is a trail that goes along the canyon's edge.

Hiking trails

We did the very easy and mostly paved rim trail and went from the visitor Center around to the Rim Overlook. I considered it more walking than hiking. Hey this map says hiking trials!

Got a cool retro picture of Kimberly.

Potash

What is potash? That is a question I was asking myself too. This place made me very curious!
For another @photogames I hosted I had people guess what the shiny thing was in the distance.

What is it Wednesday

@derekkind answered and linked a awesome video. I would suggest it if you would like to learn about potash and how it is mined in the desert of Utah.


People

My awesome traveling companions

Jodi and I posing

Plants along the trail

Dead Horse Point

While there are places to look out on the trail this area had a great lookout area. Can you see the horse?

Kimberly making or fixing the cairn

The landscape where we were walking back to the parking lot.

Dead Horse State Park is a great stop if you are going to Canyonlands and Arches.

Share Our World Series
2021
Share Our World: Capitol Reef National Park Overview
Share Our World: Fluted Wall, Capitol Reef NP
Share Our World: Fruita School Capital Reef NP
Share Our World: Grand Wash Hike-- with rating
Share Our World: Sunset drive in Capitol Reef
Share Our World: Capitol Reef Scenic Drive
Share Our World: Wild Horse Slot Canyon Hike

Share Our World: Sabino Canyon
Share Our World: Agave Garden
Share Our World: Saguaro National Park
Share Our World: Arizona- Sonora Desert Museum
Share Our World: Cactus Garden
Share Our World: The White Dove of the Desert
Share Our World: Mayo Clinic Nature Trail
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix, Arizona
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in 1.4

All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency