Visiting Flø, where Norway ends

Well, one of the many places where Norway ends.

Time to show off more of my vacation to Sunnmøre, the region of Norway where I grew up. I've already bragged about my Hiking Trip To Høgsvora and my Visit to Ålesund. This time I want to show off a place called Flø.


Where and what is Flø?

Flø lies on the northwestern edge of the island Hareidslandet. That's the same Island where I grew up! It lies all the way out by the sea and if it wasn't for the curvation of the earth (there's probably other factors at play) we could probably see Iceland from this point. In fact if you get in a boat and travel straight for exactly 999km (that's no joke) you'll find Iceland. Here's the proof:

islandnorge.PNG
Google Maps

There's of course many places with such a view of the sea but this one is mine.

Flø is a popular destination for both locals and tourists during the summer. It has big awesome beaches and because it's a weather beaten place it generates some great waves for surfing. It's also the starting point of a lot of great hikes.


Our Visit

We didn't have much more of a goal than to take a walk along the beaches of Flø. We drove for as long as we could and set our destination to Gotesteinen, a huge rock about 1km away, where there was a Geocache hidden.

We stopped at a rocky beach for some pictures and I immediately saw a lot of potential motives. What else to do than start snapping?

IMG_5862.jpeg

IMG_5887.jpeg

IMG_5883.jpeg

IMG_5901.jpeg

IMG_5850.jpeg

IMG_5854.jpeg

Rocky beaches like these are really cool. It has a ton of round smooth rocks. The water's been smashing in on this beach for thousands of years, grinding the rocks together and smoothing them out. Not so comfortable for swimming and sunbathing but it's cool on the eyes. Luckily there's a lot of sandy beaches out here as well.

Continuing on the path we soon arrived at Gotesteinen. "Stein" is the Norwegian word for "rock" so Gotesteinen can roughly be translated to the Gote Rock. Who or what a Gote is I can't say. Now I remember the beaches from when I was here as a kid but this rock had been wiped from my memory. I guess big rocks lying about wasn't as fun as playing on the beach as a kid. Check this monster out:

IMG_5910.jpeg

I took some time to admire it but not for long. Had to find that Geocache. Apparently it was hidden somewhere behind Gotesteinen underneath another big rock. I put my life on the line for this Geocache.

As I was working my way around Gotesteinen I was trying to not step in some puddles. What I didn't notice was a part of Gotesteinen poking out so I hit my head really hard on it. Blood started pouring down in my face and I had a proper Donald Duck bump on my forehead for the next few days.

Nonetheless, after a lot of searching and mucking about we finally found it. It took us a little while with both me, my girlfriend and my mom searching for it. It was inside this small cave in the picture below so we had to do some spelunking to get it.

IMG_5908.jpeg

With the Geocache found it was time to start walking back to the car. Our entourage was starting to get impatient from us spending 10-15 minutes to look for this thing. We still had to wait for a little while for my step father to climb down from Gotesteinen though. This picture might give you an idea of the scale of this rock.

IMG_5925.jpeg

On the way back we met some of the local farmers who had lured the cows over to the road for some food. I couldn't help myself so they of course had to become motives for my photography. Cows are cool, right? I prefer mine with pepper sauce and some grilled potatoes.

IMG_5947.jpeg

Look at their awesome lil' haircuts.

So that just about sums up another trip down memory lane this summer. I'm glad my mom has moved back to this place so I have a reason to visit more often. The landscape and scenery is just so awesome and diverse. You can get yourself from an awesome mountaintop to a great view of the sea in less than an hour.

IMG_5924.jpeg

IMG_5928.jpeg


All images in this post are taken from me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency