Why you should use Las Vegas as your flight hub: Hint wicked cheap and lots of fun.


Alright! We can almost fly again (hope hope hope).

My home city of Edmonton, Alberta is a great city, but it’s not a great flight hub.

What's a flight hub? A place where a lot of planes fly in and out out.

vegas.jpg

Most of the flights I use to explore the best countries to retire cheap require a stop in a different city along the way.

Here’s 3 reasons why you should choose Las Vegas for a flight hub.

  1. It’s a great airport, especially compared to LAX or Vancouver.

You can gamble, smoke and it's relatively cheap. Compare it to the hellhole you call LAX or the boring Vancouver one, and you know that Vegas is a better hub

  1. It usually costs you nothing in extra plane fare. My flight to Asia from Edmonton was $600. A flight to Vegas from Edmonton, and then Vegas to Asia, $610. So instead of doing the 17 hour flight with a few gross layovers, I fly into Las Vegas, stay a few days (I like the buffets), and then direct to Asia.

  2. It’s a pretty great place to stay for cheap/free for a few days. I like to actually book Vegas as a mini vacation, before I go exploring Asia for a year.

Here’s the best way to stay on the cheap in Vegas.

  1. Grab some free apps.

There are several apps called MyVegas . Myvegasslots myvegasbingo myvegasblackjack. Just go to the app store and download them all. These are real apps made by MGM/affiliated with them and many of the rewards are associated with MGM.

In the trips I've done, I had 2/1 buffets, free shows, free stays at the Bellagio and I keep debating if I want to go on a helicopter ride around the city.

Wynn hotel also has an app for this. It's rewards are a stay in the Wynn, and buffet.

The Wynn is an amazing hotel, but the buffet reward is the reason I keep choosing to play this app.

How do you collect the rewards? Is it free? What are the caveats?

You'll have to connect to your Facebook. You have to be over 21. And when you register use your real name. They will check that your app reward is the same as your passport/photo ID. Sorry Mclovin .....

myvegas.jpg

These apps are all free, and provide actual rewards in Vegas.

Hotel rooms, shows and food are all on there.

(I’ve done this trip a whole bunch of times, and it’s not a scam.)

Is it totally free? Yes.

How does it work?

And why isn’t everybody doing it?

  1. It’s completely free, but you have to click the apps at least one time a day to get the free stuff.

  2. It’s not instant. It takes me about 1 year to collect enough loyalty points to get my free trip.

  3. A lot of people don’t really want to spend the time getting the free loot. I’ve told hundreds of people, and most think it’s a great idea. But 3 months later? They’ve stopped clicking the free money button.

  4. They think Las Vegas is all about gambling, strippers or partying. Not me, for me it’s going to be 3 days of lying by the pool, free bud lights and buffets. (I might also hit the gyms.)

  5. They have serious gambling problems. I get it, some people cannot be in that environment without blowing a lot of money. If you are that kind of person, do not use Las Vegas as a flight hub, they even have slot machines at the airport.

Total cost for 3 days in Vegas with my plan?

  1. Hotel: Staying at the Bellagio Free! MyVegas

  2. Food (Buffet at the Wynn Free)Currently as I write this the buffet is closed because of Covid. But by the time I actually go to Vegas it should be open.

shimp.jpg

  1. Entertainment: MyVEGAS apps for Cirque Du Soleil, Shark Reef and Wax Museum. Again Free.

  2. Groupon & YELP: Want to do more? Go grab some Groupons ahead if you like, or YELP has a bunch of check in offers too.

So, book that trip! Go to Vegas. And have a great time, looking for the best countries to retire cheap.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency