My Solo Plight to Mt. Pulag (PART 5) : The Miracle of Sunrise

Hive_Pulag (3).png

If you are wondering when will this series about Mt. Pulag will come to an end, we're on the same boat. 😂 Last night, I went through the remaining photos I took during this trip and I couldn't believe they're too many of them to fit into one last post. Not to mention the countless things I'd love to tell you about this trip. So this might extend up to Part 10? Let's see. Nothing's certain. Haha!

If you haven't read Part 4, click here.
Hive_Pulag.png


Finally, I am here!

We reached our assigned hill (the one nearest to Mt. Pulag's highest peak) in time for the sunrise that day. I couldn't remember what it was called, it sounded like Tower 2 or something like that. Nonetheless, we watched the sunrise here.

IMG_20190224_060310.jpg

When we reached the peak, I battled against the exhaustion from the 20-30 minute nonstop assault and the undeniably cold dawn breeze. I don't know, I just felt like the oxygen was thinning and I have to exert more effort just to breathe normally. On top of that, my eyes were cold wet from the tears that are now all dried up.

IMG_20190224_061713.jpg

IMG_20190224_061719.jpg

Then I looked around. There was so much to see. The 360-degree view of Mt. Pulag was too idyllic not to stop and stare at it for as long as I could. And there was a sigh of relief. I made it! I made it! I told myself.

GOPR6291.JPG

I lost track of time. I lost touch with my companions as I took my time to embrace what was within reach - the sun that's about to come up, the sea of clouds that were just too good to be true, the mountain ranges that looked nothing but enchanting as they reveal themselves to my naked eyes.

GOPR6266.JPG

Then the sun came out. I could remember how everyone just waited for the sun to come out as if it's the only thing that mattered that very minute. We couldn't miss it; it was what we came here for. It was the reason why we woke up at 12 am, walked in the freezing cold mountains of the Cordilleras for roughly four (4) hours. So we looked at it with intense gladness in our hearts, with eyes sparkling in excitement, with souls recharged for the first time in a very long time. We breathe in the sun's warmth and it felt good. It sure did.

GOPR6273.JPG


Alone no more

You have probably remembered why I came to Pulag and why I came to Pulag alone. If not, you can read this. 😊

IMG_20190224_061554.jpg

What I love about traveling solo is the idea that I get to meet new people from all walks of life and I can reintroduce myself to them however I want. I can tell them a new version of who I am or of who I want to be. Strangers are slow to judge (at least based on my experience). They'll believe you if you say you came to Pulag alone just for the fun of it and not to forget someone.

The highlight of this trip is not just Mt. Pulag but these strangers that I now call my friends. Strangers that never left me when I told them to "Wait, I'm out of breath. Let's take a minute of rest". Strangers who never hesitated to say yes when I asked them: "Can you be the model of my videos?". And strangers who almost sounded like my mother when they told me: "Where did you go? We were looking for you!"

We started this trip awkwardly looking at each other, but a simple "Hi" turned things upside down. I couldn't imagine this trip without these noisy people. 😂

Here are the best group photos of us (from left to right: Caleb, Ebib, yours truly, and Bryan). We look like grade-school best friends, don't we? ❤️

IMG_20190224_061446.jpg

IMG_20190224_060417.jpg

IMG_20190224_060404.jpg

IMG_20190224_061441.jpg

I think I was able to mention in my previous blogs about Mt. Pulag that I joined one of the escapades of Trail Adventours and that's why I didn't really end up climbing Pulag alone. There were twenty (20) of us but Adrian, one of our guides, and another climber had to conclude their journey early on due to health reasons.

Aren't we cute? Haha!😂 And look at that Pulag glow in our faces! It suits us. ❤️

IMG_20190224_062831.jpg

GOPR6269.JPG

GOPR6271.JPG


Whispering a prayer

Why did I come here just now? Not two years ago when my friends climbed via Akiki Trail. Not three years ago when my spine was in perfect condition. But now, when I'm devastated and couldn't seem to sustain happiness, not even for a day.

It may never make sense why I had to be ghosted and told that I was not the one, that I was too kind and too genuine to be loved, that my good character was the reason why people didn't stay. That didn't make any sense when I turned my back away from Gio that 1st of December. But that sunrise in Pulag told me it was what it was. I was supposed to feel what I felt, I was supposed to meet who I met and I was supposed to feel as empty as I could be just so I can feel how exciting it is to be filled with peace and joy once again.

GOPR6289.JPG

In a moment that might never come again, I whispered a prayer to the wind as it brushed through my cheeks. "Take what is not mine to keep," I mumbled, took the deepest of the deepest breath, and allowed myself to let go of people, attachments, and tragedies.


That would be all for this post! In my next Pulag travel blog, join me as I reach the highest peak in Luzon, Philippines!

See you then! 😊


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency