Ramnous Ancient site (revisited for its second half)


[//]:# (!pinmapple 38.223203 lat 24.027164 long d3scr)


A couple of months ago I have posted my visit to Ramnous ancient site with a bitter aftertaste due to the fact that access was allowed only to the first half of it (actually less than half).
You can find that post here.
--------------------As you can see in the following screenshot my attempt then had ended like this:--------------------
image.png

Now I'm back looking forward to see the rest!

I walk down this unpaved path:

And walk through this gross door which is open this time:

As as you walk down this ancient street heading North you can see ruins of ancient tombs:





A few meters later a small plateau generously though unintentionally offered by those marble ruins makes a great view point to the sea and the fortress of Ramnous that I can't wait to visit later:

At this point every single step I take heading North makes my heart beat happier and my eyes open wider trying to capture the sea, the fortified town of Ramnous and all this beauty around:




The path becomes narrower and even challenging at some points for the non fit ones - not the best site to visit if it's your first walking days after an accident:


But does it worth the effort?

Abso-fucking-lutely:

This walk brings me to the entrance of the fortress:

Under this penetrating sun on an already very hot day regardless the fact that I arrived as early in the morning as possible I enter Ramnous town much more effortlessly than invaders used to back in the day:

I'm instantly attracted by this cute circular stone house that I didn't manage to find more info about:


The East side of the town has great view to the sea and I guess there's a good reason behind the fact that most of those stone houses are located on this part:

This street going up leads to the Gymnasium and the Theater of Ramnous:

Not much survive today from either of them but you can see some of the VIP seats of the theater:

And here's view to both of them from the North end:
You've been warned: Not much to see from the Gymnasium and the Theater

More to see on this street heading East:

Here's another view to the stone houses as I look South trying to prevent the sun from killing my pictures:

Not always possible though as you see in the next ones:



Time for a panoramic:

If it wasn't for the killing sun I would be dreaming myself staying there all day watching the sea:

Just like these stones do:

This stone path said "Follow me" and that's what I do:


That's how the hydraulics of that era look today:

No life today in these houses but not such a bad life for the ancient standards back in the day:

Time to leave the town behind from the same way I entered:

I wonder how much time it took them back in the day to make every simple rectangular parallelepiped thing like this:

Last shots of the fortress wall before I go:


Just a tiny gap between stones is more than enough for vegetation to grow:

Thank you Ramnous, it took two visits (not my fault - read previous post about the place) but you deserved both:

And that despite the hot day. 32.6 under the shade of this HUGE plane tree at 10:00 am:
DSC_0106.JPG

I think at this point you'd like to watch a video as well:


Hope you enjoyed reading and watching, I appreciate your attention and look forward to see you on my next one 🙂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency