One day trip to Subotica, Serbia - Part I

Hello and welcome to part one of daily trip to Subotica, a city located in the North of Serbia, very close to the Hungarian border. This trip happened on October 5th when my boyfriend and I decided to take advantage of nice and sunny fall weather and go on a one day adventure to explore Subotica.


As soon as we arrived, we went to have some food and coffee as we needed energy for all the walking and exploring we wanted to do. Subotica is a beautiful city with amazing architecture, very picturesque.


I literally stopped every few meters to take photos! There is so many incredible buildings, details, doors, colors, cute cafes...


Walking around the city center, exploring the streets on nice and sunny day was really enjoyable and we kept mentioning how it was a good decision to visit Subotica. Coming from Novi Sad, it's 100km away so we had pretty much all day to arrive, explore the main areas and go back to Novi Sad.


City Hall of Subotica details...


Blue fountain is a famous spot in Subotica where I have seen a lot of tourists and Serbian people visiting Subotica from other places take photos. National Theatre in Subotica was totally reconstructed and now it looks like this. Years ago when I went on a trip with University, Subotica was one of the places we visited and theatre was under reconstruction back then so this is my first time seeing it after it was done.


One of the things about Subotica that I really liked was a lot of tall trees and green areas, at least around the places we ended up exploring.

Subotica also has a lot of monuments and I found the Reaper monument very interesting and different. Later on I found out it was made by the same sculptor Maja Rakocevic Cvijanov that did the self-portraits called Cleaning I saw in the Museum of Contemporary Art of Vojvodina in Novi Sad just one day after visiting Subotica (I made a post about it yesterday).


Thank you for coming along on this first part of our mini journey around Subotica, I hope you liked it so far! :)


banner.png

Photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency