Karangahake Gorge - Through waterfalls and lost railways


Departing from Mount Manganui on a beautiful spring day(wich was still cold for me as an Italian) to up north for a little bit more then one hour we found Karangahake Gorge. 

Mt. Manganui seaside
Mt. Manganui seaside

After the memorable drive you arrive at this site that reminded me so much of Jurassic Park location and the the music started playing. Na na nana na na nana naaaa nana naa naaaaa na na naa nananaa nananaa naaaa.

Where’s the feathered Trex?
Where's the feathered Trex?

Walking around this wooden bridges that connect the varius mining sites, most of what you can see here is abandoned but the area is still going on with mining operation though less visible and invasive that what was before. The walk is beautiful and very different then usual walks as further up it leads over  Waitawheta River and then into an abandoned railway tunnel.

Karangahake Gorge - Through waterfalls and lost railways
Karangahake Gorge - Through waterfalls and lost railways

I enjoyed so much taking photos in there, it was really tricky and I found really hard to take a merely descriptive shot so I tried something more creative using a black and white filter and moving subjects. I would have loved to stay a little bit more there but the days where not still super long and we had to move on.

Next there was what I think are the remain of a tramway connected to a mine after a bit more the loop ended and we visited the nearby falls.

I don't remember the name of this location but was really close by the Karangahake Gorge walk, this waterfalls were really elegant most the ones I have seen in this northen area of New Zealand were big, single drop falls usually situaded in what look like a jungle(but cold ahah) instead this one was looking like some palance stairways starting wide at the bottom and leading up in a narrow hall at the top, too bad I'm not a salmon so I could not see what was up there so instead I took some random photos with this never seen before plant.

And wet spiderwebs that looked like the most precious and lost piece of jewellery or a window after a storm.

All in all it was I beautiful walk with many other things to do in the area, we stayed just one day but I reccomend to give it a bit more if happen to pass by!

Have a goodday traveler.

Karangahake Gorge - Through waterfalls and lost railways

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency