Back at the Happiest Place on Earth: DISNEYLAND! MorenaTravels to Hong Kong

morena travels hong kong 01.jpg


Back at the Happiest Place on Earth: DISNEYLAND!
MorenaTravels to Hong Kong, 2014


Do you wanna go with me in Hong Kong? This was my boyfriend's text when we are going out back then. (Every time I hear Hong Kong, I picture out Disneyland.) I don’t usually have time to go out with him since I am busy with work. I rarely have time to hang out with him that is why he probably texted me to travel with him internationally. “I was shocked, speechless and I cannot move” probably of excitement. This is our first out of town together as a couple and as they say you will know each other's characters once you travel together. So then I said "yes, sure, when?" was my reply to him. To my surprise, he already booked tickets for us. The kid in me was so excited and happy!! This is it! Finally I will meet the Disney Princesses, Mickey Mouse and other Disney characters in person. I am really excited not just because I will go to Disneyland but of course this is our first travel as a couple.

morena travels hong kong disneyland 2.jpg

morena travels hong kong disneyland 1.jpg

IMG_3258.JPG

IMG_6700.JPG

IMG_3262.JPG

When we arrived around 3 A.M. in the airport there was no bus or train so we waited for sunrise. We stayed for a while at the airport since the airport is really nice no wonder they are the world's top 10 airport in 2021. I was then time to go since it’s already 7 A.M. we then headed to a noodle shop for breakfast. Since it is my first time and at that time noodles wasn't my thing, I didn't eat a lot. I am not into Chinese food back then. What I want is "silog" haha kidding aside. Then his friends planned the itinerary as to where to go. We checked-in to A Hostel in Chungking Mansion in Nathan Road. After checking in we went to a few malls and bought some OOTD for our few days of stay. I want to go to Disneyland right away but his friends decided to go to Ocean Park since it has plenty of adult rides. As much as I would love to go Disneyland but I have to follow our Itinerary.

morena travels hong kong macau.jpg

On our first day, we went to Victoria Peak where famous actors/actresses, politicians, consul generals, CEO’s and businessmen live according to source. Not only that it is also an extraordinary viewpoint of the city at any time of the day but it is more quaint and picturesque at night. It is also known as Mount Austin of Hong Kong and The Peak. But the main reason tourists visit here is because of its scenic view of the city skyline and Victoria Harbor. You can use the coin-operated telescopes installed at the viewing deck to view the cityscape. Also there is what they called The Peak Tram where you can go to Sky Terrace, the famous Madam Tussauds (Wax Museum) and a lot more. After a long and tiring day, finally we had chicken (KFC) for dinner at 9:00 PM since we were really hungry.

morena travels hong kong victoria peak.jpg

IMG_6735.JPG

IMG_6736.JPG

On our second day tour we went to Ocean Park. I was excited that I almost forgot my octopus card. It is a smart contactless payment tool which is fun and easy to use. You can use it for public transport, dining, entertainment, shopping and more as long as you reload it always. When we arrived in Ocean Park we fell in line to get tickets for a one-day pass. Ocean Park there is really huge so you can choose a 2 day or 1 day pass. Upon entering Ocean Park I was amazed and excited. I went to my first adventure to The Thrill Mountain where you can find rides that will drive you crazy and nauseated. I did ride the Hair Raiser where I felt dizzy and I almost had to vomit. After that, my boyfriend handed me something to drink to feel relaxed and I can say I don’t want to go on for another ride. haha. I let my boyfriend ride alone with the other rides since I am about to collapse at that time. It was fun and scary yet I waited for them to finish the rides and then we went to the Polar Adventure. This is where you can encounter various sea creatures as such as the penguin and sea lion. When I saw the penguins, I taught it wasn’t real . They are so cute that you can’t help to giggle with their overwhelming cuteness.

morena travels hong kong ocean park 2.jpg

morena travels hong kong ocean park1.jpg

IMG_6743.JPG

IMG_6746.JPG

Upon enjoying my rides I decided to buy some food to eat. After eating I tried there vanilla ice cream. After eating I then started looking on the Map and started walking. I am stunned with the longest Escalator I have seen in my whole life. The escalator heads to Adventure Land! I also managed to see the baby sharks in the Marine World and other sea creatures under the water. After riding the killer rides, I was did a meet and greet with the sea creatures, witness the dolphin show, next thing is cable riding. It was my first time to ride cable cars. Ocean Park cable car will give you a fascinating aerial view of the park.

morena travels hong kong Sky 100.jpg

IMG_6692.JPG

IMG_6729.JPG

IMG_6730.JPG

IMG_6718.JPG

Now, upon descent, we found ourselves slightly lost at the beauty of Old Hongkong. I was really amazed with the Panda Village but our last stop in Ocean Park was the Grand Aquarium. The Aquarium was indeed grand you’ll really encounter tons of creatures here in this gigantic aquarium. It was amazing to witness such magnificence in biodiversity. That’s the end of our first day. On the second day we went to SKY 100, a 360-degree indoor observation deck on the 100th floor. The high-speed double-deck elevator which will bring you from 2nd to 100th floor in just 60 seconds. They are the highest indoor observation deck in the city and the best view of the glittering city. After Sky 100, we went shopping to City Outlets where you can buy affordable quality shoes, bags and many more.

morena travels hong kong macau 2.jpg

IMG_3241.JPG

IMG_3243.JPG

IMG_3242.JPG

The following day, FINALLY, we went to the HAPPIEST PLACE ON EARTH--Disneyland! The kid in me got so excited. When we arrived, we fell in line for the one-day pass. I wanted a 2-day pass however my boyfriend has a plan for the following day. When I entered the beautiful Disneyland I felt like I am in the movie “Everything here is Magical”. I hadn’t been to Disneyland before and while I was expecting to have a wonderful time, I was really surprised at just how great a time I did have! The theme park is truly stunning, I learned that this is the only Disneyland in the world that has a scenic mountain and sea view as a backdrop. Inspired by fairy-tale dreams, we explored 7 lands - Adventureland, Grizzly Gulch, Mystic Point, Toy Story Land, Fantasyland, Tomorrowland one of my favorite themed lands in the magic kingdom and Main Street, USA- filled with beauty, excitement and Disney Characters. I explored every part of Disneyland. This time I didn’t ride any rides. I was busy picture-taking with so many of the Disney characters.

morena travels hong kong disneyland 3.jpg

IMG_3234.JPG

IMG_2718.JPG

IMG_3239.JPG

IMG_3237.JPG

IMG_3235.JPG

I guess this is the reason why this is called the Magic Kingdom. Despite being the smallest Disneyland in the world, Hong Kong Disneyland has a unique Chinese Culture-inspired charm that will give you a more than the usual Disneyland experience! It is the impression that gave me a great experience of a lifetime. I’m a huge fan of great parades, but this was beyond anything else I’ve ever experienced.

morena travels hong kong disneyland 5.jpg

IMG_2765 (1).JPG

IMG_6717.JPG

IMG_2643 (1).JPG

IMG_6716.JPG

The parades begin everyday at 3:30 P.M. and they are a celebration of all the great Disney characters and stories that we all grew up with. From Snow White to Queen Ana of Arendelle. All of the great Disney characters made a real-life appearance. As the sun went down, Cinderella’s Castle illumination made the whole park seem that much more magical with colored lights, music, and of course fireworks. Most awaited part is the fireworks even though we almost didn’t catch the last train back to our hotel.

morena travels hong kong disneyland 4.jpg

IMG_3232.JPG

Dreams do really come true if we have the courage to pursue them. (Walt Disney) I enjoyed a lot. The experience is a truly great one it made my childhood dream come true. Happy Kid in me. At once my life long dream was finally come true. Memories are forever. Hold on to your dreams and make it happen.

IMG_6720.JPG

IMG_6727.JPG

Have you been here? Share your experience on the comments below!

IMG_6726.JPG

IMG_3231.JPG

IMG_3240.JPG

Stay tuned for the next travel post! 😘

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency