Traditional Yao dance in China, August 17, 2017


Nice friends make your life happy 😄

Having nice friends makes your life so precious and rich in many ways. It was so fortunate for me that my friends asked me to visit Yao village with them because their students were planning to visit the village to study Yao´s traditional lifestyle. 

「旅行はどこに行くかではなく、誰と行くかで思い出はかわる」みないなことを言いますが、気心のしれた友人との旅行はいつになっても最高の思い出になるものですね。 ありがたいもので、学生時代の友人が2017年に連絡があり、突然ではあったのですが「ヤオ族っていう中国の少数民族の村に行くんだけど、興味ある??」みたいな趣旨の連絡だったと記憶しています。 歴史、文化、人類学、旅行、民族文化など、そういった関連が大好きなわたしは友人のお誘いを受け一緒にヤオ族の村へ行く旅行へ行きました。

My friend´s husband is a history professor who has been studying minority groups in China including this fantastic Yao dancer in this video clip. And, it was very fortunate that they asked me and my mother, my uncle, and my aunt (well, my mother wants to travel with them all the time!!) to visit the village together since they were planning to visit there with their students (literally, we jumped in their research project! For us, we were just tourists from Japan. But, for them, it was a serious research trip). They decided to visit the village because their students wanted to see how Yao people live in the village and to finish their thesis. Yao is one of the minority groups who lives in the southern part of China.  

きっかけはひょんなもので、友人の旦那様が大学の教授なのですが、生徒さんが卒業論文を書く上でフィールドワーク(現地調査)をそのヤオ村で行うので、一緒に行きましょうと言うことでした。 これこそ、昔人気が出たテレビ番組のウルルン滞在記の様で、二つ返事で行きたいと答えたわたしですが、その話をするとわたしの母、そしてなんと叔母、叔父も一緒に行きたいなぁとなり、一緒に「ウルルン滞在記」を行うことになりました。 (生徒さんは卒論作成に必死だったのですが、とても気さくな方たちで、中国の秀才を見た感じがしました👏)

So, we visited the village in 2017 and videotaped this cool Yao dancer. Sorry that my mother is shouting so loudly behind 😅😅😅....well, she was enjoying the performance! 

I would like to write about my trip blog later, but there is a bit of information about Yao people.

詳しくはのちのブログに書こうと思うのですが、これがヤオ村で出会ったおじさんが行ってくれた舞踊です。 わたしの母が後ろで感激のあまり大声をあげうるさいのですが。。。舞踊の見学はとても良い思い出になりました。

Yao is one of the minority groups in China who live in the southern part of China. They have their own culture and tradition. It is amazing to learn that the total number of Yao is 3,500,000 +, so it can be considered to be a nation if they would like to be independent. Well, the Communist party will not allow them to do so, I guess. It is a very touchy subject, so I will put the topic besides. And, I will write what I learned during the visit in 2017. 

正直、わたしはこの村へ行くまでヤオ族に関して、まったく無知でした。 ヤオ族は中国に住む少数民族の1つなのですが、そもそも中国に少数民族がすんでいたと言うこともその当時、初めて知りました。 中国と言えは漢民族の国と言ったイメージがわたしにはあり、ヤオ族をはじめとする多くの少数民族も住んでいる国だとこの旅行を通して学ぶことができました。 びっくりしたのがヤオ族の数で、なんと総数3500000人を超える人が世界中に住んでいるようです。 漢民族との領土争い、そしてラオスとの争いなどでその居住地を制限されてきた歴史があるのですが、その数には驚きました。 独自の文化、歴史、言語を持ったこれほど大きな民族が中国共産党が率いる今の中国に住み、そしてどの様に中国文化(漢民族の文化)に併合や同化していったのかを友人の旦那さんの生徒さんたちは研究していて、これまた興味深いなぁと感じました。

I hope that you will read my coming trip blog about Yao later. 😉

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency