5 days in Vojvodina (Serbia) 🚍🧳 , May 2019 (Day 3️⃣ )

Before we continue traveling around Vojvodina and enjoying all its beauties, I would primarily like to apologize to all Hive users for the inconvenience that happened with my previous post. It happened to me unintentionally that I published the same post twice because I didn't publish it here originally. I didn’t know how to fix it so I posted the same post 2 times, and since there is no “remove” or “delete post” option it turned out like I wanted to duplicate my Hive rewards. No, that was absolutely not my goal, but still my inexperience on PeakD.

Unfortunately, because of that I got a lot of downvotes and reacted a little more aggressively, for which I apologize again. Simply, the day when it all happened was bad enough for me even before that. I hope you understand me.

Therefore, I have learned at least something new and now I will pay more attention so that the same does't happen again. And I hope that the people who follow my posts continuously, but also the new ones, will receive my sincere apology. All I want is for people to enjoy my posts here, really.


So let's continue now where we left off last time. I present to you the third day of our trip around Vojvodina.

image.png

1st destination

image.png

As usual, we woke up around half past 7 or 7, went down for breakfast and then left the hotel around 8am to continue our journey. We left Novi Bečej and headed towards Melenci, passing through Kumane along the way.


Untitled.png
[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.528095 lat 20.306195 long d3scr)


It took us about 20 minutes from Novi Bečej to Melenci. In Melenci is the spa Rusanda, which was our first destination this day. This spa is located on the eponymous salt lake Rusanda and was founded in 1867. It is known for the healing properties of the mineral peloid (mud) from the lake. Thermomineral water with a temperature of 32 ° C is also used in the treatment. The spa is home to one of the most eminent rehabilitation hospitals in the country, employing about 200 medical staff. In addition, many professional gatherings and symposia in medicine are held here.


Entrance to the spa Rusanda (in Cyrillic - Banja Rusanda)


20190530_090252.jpg

My friend Valentina (also my roommate on this trip) in the Rusanda spa. This is our first photo and it is especially dear to me because it reminds me of the beginning of our friendship. Before this trip, Valentina and I didn't know each other, although we are both studying tourism.



Salt lake Rusanda

61499356_652634888571827_870371454632329216_n.jpg

At the end of our visit, a group photo in the spa, on the shores of Lake Rusanda

image.png

2nd Destination

image.png

We returned to the bus and continued our journey to the next destination - Zrenjanin.

Untitled.png
[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.383355 lat 20.389713 long d3scr)


Zrenjanin is the third largest city in Vojvodina (after Novi Sad and Subotica). It is located in Banat and, according to the latest census, has about 76,000 inhabitants. It's the administrative center of the Central Banat district and the biggest city in Banat (one of the three parts of Vojvodina). The city used to be called Bečkerek, and the current name is named after the national hero Žarko Zrenjanin. This was once the seat of the Torontal County. It received the status of a city in 2007.


Coats of arm of Zrenjanin



While I was waiting for us to get off the bus, I took this photo.
20190530_093422.jpg
On photo you can see the Reformed Church and the building of City Courthouse


The first thing we visited was the County Palace (city government office). So here are some photos from the yard, but also from the assembly hall.

Photos from the county yard

20190530_094727.jpg

20190530_101301.jpg

Truly remarkable interior details


Across the street is the National Museum Zrenjanin, which we headed to next. It can be said that this visit was unplanned and was not planned in our travel program.

The exhibition consists of 30 works by our great artist and academic created in the 1930s, when he spent his summers in Dalmatia (Mlini, Cavtat, Dubrovnik), to which he returns after the Second World War. The exhibition also includes paintings from the French fishing village of Cassis, the first with coastal motifs in Konjović's oeuvre.

I can't remember if I didn't take more photos or if they got lost somewhere. Certainly, this is an exhibition of paintings that are the least to my taste. Write me in the comments how you like the pictures from the galleries I visited 🎨😃.


That was it when it comes to visiting cultural institutions. Before we left Zrenjanin, we had about an hour and a half of free time.

As both the National Museum and the City government office are located on Trg Slobode, my free time started in the square, so I took these photos.


In the picture you can see the Catholic Cathedral of St. Ivan Nepomuk. It was built in 1868 and it is located on the main town square, within the Old Town, as a spatial, cultural and historical unit of great importance.

In front of the Cathedral, in the middle of the square, you can see the monument to King Peter I, which was renovated in 2004. The original version of this monument was created in the period from 1924 to 1928 and existed until 1941, when it was demolished by the German occupiers.


Oh, this is me, taken from the direction of the National Museum, which we just visited. This light green building left is the City government office building and and this right you can recognize - it's the Cathedral


3rd Destination


[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.263703 lat 20.401984 long d3scr)

So here we are again on the bus. After we left Zrenjanin, we headed towards a special nature reserve "Carska bara". There we were greeted by a man who "boarded" us on a boat and drove us along the old course of the river Begej. Unfortunately, I didn't take any photos here because I was defending myself against mosquitoes all the time. I only make a short video. So I must used some photos from Internet to show you how it's looks. The boat ride took about 30 to 40 minutes. The man who hosted us was very witty, hospitable, smiling... a real host.


image.png

"Carska lađa (Imperial ship)" for transporting passengers by water to Carska bara (Imperial Pond)

The reserve is located 55 km from Belgrade, 60 km from Novi Sad, 14 km from Zrenjanin (towards Belgrade). The reserve can be reached by bus, car, bicycle and boat. "Carska bara" includes the rest of the former main area along the upper course of the river Begej, with preserved and various orographic and hydrographic marsh forms and phenomena. It represents a complex - a mosaic of swamp, forest, meadow, steppe and slatina ecosystems with diverse and rich living world and habitats of many endemic, subendemic, relict species of the Pannonian area. The natural values ​​of the Reserve are highly valued due to the existence of about 500 plant species, 239 species of birds, 20 species of fish, as well as 30 species of mammals rare for this area, and fishpond lakes between two entities of the protected area are of special importance.


image.png

Special Nature Reserve "Carska bara"


image.png

4th Destination

image.png

After enjoying the beautiful nature of this part of Banat, we headed to Kovacica where we visited the Gallery of Naive Art.

Untitled.png
[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.111229 lat 20.619176 long d3scr)

It was founded in 1955 in the Banat village of Kovacica in the Province of Vojvodina. It is one of the most visited tourist facilities in the municipality of Kovacica, primarily due to the paintings of painters Zuzana Halupova and Martin Jonas. Between 16,000 and 20,000 tourists visit the gallery annually.

61551493_336860837004333_6599912953401573376_n.jpg


I really liked this gallery and the pictures


image.png

5th Destination

image.png

The last destination was Vršac. But before that, we headed to the nearby Vršac Mountains.

Traveling from Kovačica to Vršac Mountains, we could finally get some rest because the trip lasted about an hour and a half. Reclining in the bus seats, we listened to the professor who who told us a story about these mountains and their origin.

Untitled.png
[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.125859 lat 21.403821 long d3scr)


The first thing we visited upon arriving in the mountains, was the Mesić Monastery. The monastery is situated near the village of Mesić, in the Vršac municipality. This is a female Orthodox monastery, founded in the 15th century. Mesić Monastery was declared Monument of Culture of Exceptional Importance in 1990, and it is protected by Republic of Serbia.

I took this photo on the right from the bus. The Vršac Mountains can be seen in the distance


Here's some photos of Mesić Monastery from outside. Whoever wanted could enter the monastery. Honestly, I'm not a fan of religious buildings and I already mentioned that in an earlier post. I respect all religions, but I am an atheist.
The garden within the monastery is extremely beautiful and flowery, abounding in beautiful roses that I had to photograph.


On the Vršac Mountains is the highest point of Vojvodina - Gudurički vrh, 641 meters high. Part of the mountain also extends to neighboring Romania. Like Fruška gora, this mountain used to be an island in the Pannonian Sea. We climbed the mountain to the Vršac Tower which is 399 meters high. There are recreational trails around which you can walk. When you climb up, there is a really beautiful view of the city of Vršac and its surroundings. How the view from the mountains just relaxes me. I miss it. The mountains offer a view of Vršac, Vojvodina and Romania.


Just see this beautiful view. I want to come back here again.

61766371_770265423369788_1288908213671952384_n.jpg

61620842_2011028822341221_756430348841123840_n.jpg

61683901_2475746925873085_4096567728507191296_n.jpg


The real attraction for us was a paraglider that found itself here with its parachute. We followed the whole process of his preparation for taking off from the mountain with a parachute. We were thrilled when he took off and greeted him with applause. Many of us enthusiastically filmed it taking off, probably because it was the first time we had witnessed something like this.

61546660_336375253702956_6497860299905826816_n.jpg


61681827_417053438878046_216901182797381632_n.jpg

In this photo is the Vršac Tower (This is the Donžon Tower). This fortress dates from the 15th century and was declared a Monument of Culture of Great Importance in 1991, and is protected by the Republic of Serbia. One theory says that the fortress was built by the Serbian despot Đurađ Branković. Historians consider that Branković built the fortress after the fall of Smederevo in 1439. Reconstruction of this building began in 2010. The first phase of works was completed and included the reconstruction of the Donžon Tower. However, the second phase of works, which included arranging the entire complex into a tourist and sports center with a museum, an observatory with a lookout in the Donžon Tower, as well as a restaurant within the walls, and rooms for cultural and artistic events, hasn't been completed.


After some time spent at the Vršac Tower, we started to return from the mountain back to our bus, which was a little lower. We were confused by the fact that we passed by the place where the bus left us and we did not see it. We were just continuing on a new trail down the mountain, when the professor said he had a surprise for us. Ah, the professor and his surprises aren’t exactly something that made us happy hahaha.


Guess what was his surprise? We walked from the mountain to the center of Vršac, where our hotel was located, where we will spend the night.

Although at first we didn't like his idea, in the end this walk from the mountain to the hotel turned into one of the most beautiful adventures on this five-day trip. At one point we stopped in front of a house on the mountain. I can't remember exactly what the facility was like, but I think it was a "cafe" or a restaurant. There we took a break from about half an hour to an hour. This dog was there too. Although he seemed dangerous at first glance, he was very kind. We all stroked and photographed him. In front of the building there were wooden benches and tables where we all sat, and then colleagues and a professor started singing and drinking beer hahaha. You have to admit that we have a cool professor, even though at first he acted like a snob and a strict professor at the lectures at the faculty.

61711326_612294739248588_2745754686614142976_n.jpg


After a short break and refreshment, with the singing professor and colleagues, we continued walking. You know that feeling when you go down a mountain or go downhill and your toes get stuck in the top of your shoes? We all had muscle inflammation after that. And then one of the colleagues tried to be witty and said "My toes are gone to Hungary". Hahahaha, how we just laughed at him.

As much as we were tired, I liked this walk which lasted for sure an hour.


image.png

We reached the hotel "Srbija" on foot, where our bus was waiting for us. We took our suitcases from the bus and headed to the front desk to arrange us in the rooms. Immediately after being accommodated in the rooms we went to dinner.
We had a cheese pie for an appetizer, and for the main course ... yummy, Karađorđe's schnitzel. It is a Serbian breaded cutlet dish named after a Serbian revolutionary Karađorđe. It is a rolled veal or pork steak, stuffed with cream, and then breaded and fried. It is served with roasted potatoes and tartar sauce.

61800940_292823501661359_4577644769064255488_n.jpg


This is the view from our room. Hotel "Serbia" is located in the city center. It's a pity that my personal video can't be hung here. That way I could show you what the room I was staying in looked like. I didn't take photos, I just made a video.

61677635_370365430259423_6299829416700674048_n.jpg

Unfortunately, my friend and I were really tired, so we returned to the room after dinner, took a shower and went to bed. We talked a little until we fell asleep. I'm sorry that we didn't go out to the city in the evening like our colleagues, to explore Vrsac a bit. I really liked what I saw on the way from the mountain to the hotel. Vrsac is a very beautiful city. It is one of the oldest Banat towns and has about 36,000 inhabitants. I hope to have the opportunity to go again with friends and explore this city better 😃

image.png

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as the previous two. I would like you to share with me what you liked the most so far from everything I visited and what would you visit first? What did you like the most in this post or in general of all so far? Remember this is not the end of this journey! There are 2 days left ... Well, stay with me for the rest of the trip! 🚍➡️➡️➡️

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency