Pre-Covid Series: Saigon in Neon

If you've been following my posts you know I love certain aesthetics. I'm obsessed with the neon-cyberpunk glow of modern cities. Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City) is no stranger to this aesthetic. The city combines the high-tech, low-life aesthetic quite well. Today we'll wander through the nighttime streets and alleys of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. 

The Pre-Covid Series is a series of posts about my trips and adventures pre-pandemic. You'll get to hear about some of the amazing places that I was able to visit before travel was extremely limited. Hopefully soon, I'll be able to return to a life of traveling soon

Cyberpunk Real World Aesthetics
Cyberpunk Real World Aesthetics

Welcome to Saigon

Saigon is a city on the rise. Everywhere you look, you can see brightly lit neon skyscrapers, mega-malls filled with luxury goods, and streets filled with nightclubs and parties. One alley away, you can be transported to a completely different place and feel like you're back in the 1960s.

District 1 - Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

In 2019, I spent three months residing in Ho Chi Minh City and it was one of my most memorable experiences ever. When I was bored I would venture out and wander. There is so much to see in Saigon. Nighttime, every street is lively and you can always find something to do or an amazing photo op. Today we're focusing on some nighttime neon-inspired photography. From skylines to dank alleys, you can find everything in Saigon. 

Cyberpunk 2077 Raytracing ON
Cyberpunk 2077 Raytracing ON

Skylines and Cityscapes in Saigon

Downtown, you'll find plenty of opportunities to take amazing photos of the skyline of Saigon or to improve your street photography. Downtown District one is filled with flashing neon and brightly lit skyscrapers.

Skyline View of District 1 from Banana Hustle DJ Party
Skyline View of District 1 from Banana Hustle DJ Party

Nightime in the Rain in Saigon

One night I had an amazing opportunity to head out in the rain. With so few pedestrians out, the rain was the perfect opportunity to capture the reflecting neon of the city. 

I love it when random people stop and post for photos!
I love it when random people stop and post for photos!

Vietnam is filled with Vaporwave and Cyberpunk Aesthetics
Vietnam is filled with Vaporwave and Cyberpunk Aesthetics

This park is normally filled with 1000s of tourists and locals.
This park is normally filled with 1000s of tourists and locals. 

Nightlife in Neon

Of course, the bars and nightclubs are no stranger from Neon lights either. Here are a few of my favorites I saw while in Ho Chi Minh.

Soaked in Saigon
Soaked in Saigon

She certainly looks happy!
She certainly looks happy!

Honestly, I’m fine with what that sign says.
Honestly, I'm fine with what that sign says.

Street Level Neon in Ho Chi Minh

Of course, every big city is built upon the real city. From street markets to alleyways, you'll find a darker yet brightly neon side of Vietnam in Saigon as well.

Pretty sure they sell cyber-enhancements down this alley.
Pretty sure they sell cyber-enhancements down this alley.

Skyscrapers one block from makeshift street markets
Skyscrapers one block from makeshift street markets

Home sweet home. This is the alley to my old apartment.
Home sweet home. This is the alley to my old apartment.

Hope You Enjoyed These Photos!

I hope everyone is enjoying these posts. I'm sure everyone is anxious to get back out on the road and enjoy life the way we could before the pandemic.

I encourage everyone to do what they can to stay safe and stop the spread of Covid. This doesn't mean living in fear. Do what's right and do what you can to stay healthy! Let's beat this thing and get back to traveling!

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush. 

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

Socials 

Facebook Instagram Twitter Website

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency