A Classic Humble Cottage Hotel With Swimming Pool : Hotel Batik Yogyakarta

It was quite unexpected that we decided to stay at a hotel. Technically I have my own place but it’s not enough nor comfortable to be hosting three people. So, we decided to book a hotel nearby Jalan Malioboro. We considered the price, walking distance to Malioboro, and also close distance to the railway station where my mom had to take another rapid antigen swab test.

thumbnail hotel.jpg

Searching for the right hotel was not easy. There are plenty of options and considering our tight-budget, we tried to find the best deal. There was one with a swimming pool but it was too far from Malioboro and the railway station. And then we found one called Hotel Batik. This place is cheap but it’s quite old-looking and humble. Ray was skeptical about the place since he said the atmosphere looks creepy from the pictures on the internet. But my mom managed to convince us that it was the best deal and nothing would happen during our stay. So, I booked the hotel for a one night stay.

If you want to read my previous travelogues check out : Malioboro During The Pandemic : A Day Trip In The Most Famous Street In Yogyakarta or Visiting Science Theme Park Taman Pintar : We Have The Science and Technology Park For Ourselves But Was It Fun?



How To Get There

It was around 11 PM when we were on the way to the Hotel Batik via Grab Car. This place is located at Jalan Dagen which is on the right side of Malioboro street from the railway station. Jalan Dagen is where my family really loved to stay for years. Every year, we would book a hotel in that area during the new year. I also tried to tell my mom to try another street but she didn’t want it. She was already comfortable with this street and was familiar. However, in the past we used to stay at the front rows hotel which is now filled with three stars to five star hotels. That time, our hotel was located a bit on an alley.

The driver told us that the hotel we’re about to stay in is an old one. On the way, we passed through a cemetery and also a parking lot with a sketchy old building. When I enthusiastically said, “ oh, that’s the place!” and the driver told me, “ no, that’s a cemetery”. I went quiet and after 3 minutes we reached the hotel. This is the full address of the place.

Komplek Taman Yuono, Jl. Dagen, Sosromenduran, Gedong Tengen, Kota Yogyakarta, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55271



The Exterior

The sign was rusty and it felt like I was traveling back to the 80’s. Later that night, Ray found out that the place was built around the 80’s. So, I wasn’t really wrong that it felt that way. The exterior of the place is really vintage. It is furnished with traditional furniture from Yogyakarta and it feels like we’re staying in one of the native houses.

exterior.jpg

During the check-in process, I was greeted by a friendly staff who asked for my ID. She gave me the key to the family room which was located just 2 minutes walk from the swimming pool. All of the buildings here are arranged into small cottages. There are many options in this place from a regular room with Fan to a private cottage with a bathtub. But since I was traveling with my family, I chose the family room.

hotl1.jpg

The Interior

htl interior.jpg

The family room consists of three single bedrooms with a private bathroom. This hotel is called Batik hotel for a reason. The interior of this hotel has a Batik element that can be seen in the headboard and also the cupboard. As soon as you enter the room, you will get three complementary water, towels, and also soap. The bedsheet seemed quite old with some stains on it. I mean thankfully there was no cum on it, just some marker stains. As usual, I also checked the existence of our good friend, bed bugs, none was there. So, it was all good. Unfortunately, the table was not remote friendly. The table was more like a makeup table and was quite old. For a price of 26.5$ for a family room, it was something expected.



The Amenities

htl5.jpg

The amenities in this place are quite modern. They have decent wifi speed, vast parking lot, restaurant, outdoor pool and 24 hour front desk service. I have not tried the food but I tried the pool. Though the chairs are quite rustic, the swimming pool is clean and well-maintained. Ray and I went to swim just after we checked in and my mom was taking a selfie by the pool.

I saw a board sign that mentioned the pool used to be open to the public but now, it’s only for the visitors. We were advised by the staff to use the backdoor to get to Jalan Malioboro. Apparently, from our room, Jalan Malioboro was only a 2 minutes walk. So that’s actually the plus of this place. However, if I were only staying with my mom, I would definitely pick another place.

My Conclusion

htl4.jpg

We noticed that there were other guests as opposed to before where it felt like we owned the pool. So apparently, many people are quite comfortable staying in this place due its location. We feel the same way except the interior and the cleanliness that was sub-par. The pool was great and we loved it. Unfortunately, we didn’t taste the hotel’s food as my mom isn’t someone who likes hotel meals. She would rather eat something else. I mean, overall the price was as the service we got. The staff was friendly so that makes up the interior problem. Oh yeah, in the next post, I will tell you about a place we visited in the area called Massimo Gelato or something. I think it was one of overpriced places in the area that I felt like I was ripped off. And my journey doesn’t stop here, so stay tuned!


Gallery

interior.jpghtl2.jpghtl3.jpg
20210701_161758.jpghtl8.jpghtl7.jpg

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. Hive is the only social media and blog that she has.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency