A forest walk in the Casentinesi National Forest - Florence (Italy)

It smells like freedom
On my first plane travel after Thailand (SteemFest 4 in 2019!!) I went to Italy, more precisely to Florence...and it tasted like freedom!

I spent my time mainly in the cities of Arezzo and Florence, but today I want to share some pictures of the beautiful forest of Casentinesi.
DSC_2357.JPG

As an ecologist, I spend much time in the forest, but the portuguese forest that I know does not have silver fir (Abies alba) or beech (Fagus sylvatica) trees. That was one of the reasons I got so positively impressed!!

Silver fir (Abies alba)

DSC_2350.JPG

Silver fir is a long-living conifer that grows naturally in european mountains. Its timber is highly appreciated for construction, furniture, plywood, and pulpwood.
DSC_2351.JPG

The trunk hosts several species of mosses and liquens, and it is easy to find parts of old branches.
DSC_2355.JPG

Beech trees (Fagus sylvatica)

As a deciduous tree, beech leaves were already covering the ground.
DSC_2363.JPG

Autumn is definitely here!!
DSC_2367.JPG

A close look at the trunk was my chance to see the shape of their leaves while hanging green in the tree.

DSC_2372.JPG

Beech galls

On the leaves there are these structures that remind of fruit, right? Although, beech tree is a Fagaceae and thus the fruits do have different shapes ( spiky fruit capsule with two beechnuts) and are not placed in the leaves. Sooo, it seems I have found the gall midge Mikiola fagi.

DSC_2376.JPG

I don't know how about you, but I think they are pretty similar to jelly beans 😋

DSC_2375.JPG

There was another "new" species for me: Quercus cerris.
(In Portugal we have a lot of Quercus trees, but don't have Quercus cerris)
DSC_2378.JPG
I picked the branch from the ground and coincidentally it had a branch gall.

During our visit we were challenged to identify all the micro-habitats in those beech trees: branch cavities, dead wood, bryophytes, liquens..., etc
The methodology we have used is included in the GoProFor LIFE project.
DSC_2384.JPG

All of a sudden, we were covered by this fog and some precipitation :) Although, we didn't get discouraged
DSC_2387.JPG

Autumn temperature and humidity...showed us Macrolepiota procera, that is the popular parasol mushroom.
DSC_2392.JPG

I discovered that it is edible, even if raw (not cooked!)
DSC_2393.JPG

At our starting point, it was possible to pick one of the three hiking tours possibilities, and we walked following "Prato alla penna" direction.
I must say that I got impressed with the beauty and naturalness of this forest. There is no heavy machinery working noise and several trees are evaluated/ cataloged according to the biodiversity that they may harbour.
DSC_2394.JPG

I definitely recommend this forest that is home to many (many) species!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency