Getting lost in Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Pienza, Italy. Located in the amazingly beautiful Tuscany.

One word: Magic.

Pienza was the first city we visited on our big photographic travel in Tuscany. I cannot remember if this was the first planned point from our long bullet list or it was by a chance, a morning decision over the cups of coffee we had in the lovely garden with stunning views towards the hill towns of Montalcino and Montepulciano.

Going to this hill establishment only opened our eyes and prepared us for the divine beauties of the region, accomplished by the united efforts of Mother Nature and the local people with artistic inclinations, if I may say that.

Let me present to you our story and experiences in a chronological order. The first building we noticed by lifting our eyes up was the beautiful brick bell tower with the metallic cross and the coat of arms on top:

DDH_3810.jpg

The flags at the city hall suggested the city is under the aegis of UNESCO. The three flags, of the European Union and Italy, go hand in hand here.

DDH_3809.jpg

The feeling I got that day was calm, people were relaxed and almost everyone was smiling, enjoying the good energy of the day and the place.

DDH_3811.jpg

This says year 1462, if I read the Roman numbers correctly? See what the quality of the details is and how it persisted through the ages...

DDH_3812.jpg

This rest place of this pigeon has put a smile on my face :)

DDH_3815.jpg

A city of colors. Such tiny lovely details only make the warm feeling warmer:

DDH_3816.jpg

We passed by few small shops offering several different types of prosciutto, salami and smoked/dried meat, of course, we fell into the temptation and tasted some of them, along with local red wines, of course. But only few tiny sips for me, as I had to drive back to our house later in the same evening. A must try, I have to say!

DDH_3819.jpg

If you happen to be there, try searching for small details. I loved these casted iron decorations over the rings used in the past to tie the horses, I suppose. I've seen such in many countries I've traveled to, but they rarely are made so beautiful!

DDH_3823.jpg

DDH_3824.jpg

Once I got to the outskirts of the city, I enjoyed walking a narrow pedestrian street with amazing view towards the valley. I took plenty of photos from that alley, all angles were breathtaking!

DDH_3827.jpg

DDH_3828.jpg

Those beautiful lines of cypress trees along the roads are so typical for Tuscany.
How could one not fall in love with this region???

DDH_3829.jpg

Here is how this street looks, a tiny part of it of course. The panoramas from there are unique and no wonder we spent much time there, and of course it wasn't only us.

DDH_3830.jpg

Flowers everywhere :)

DDH_3834.jpg

Those beautiful plowed autumn fields viewable over the roof of the houses covered in ancient tiles...

DDH_3838.jpg

Here's how the street names plates look like around:

DDH_3842.jpg

I heard that in the winter some of the places in the mountains are hard to live in but in the autumn everything was looking and feeling warm.

DDH_3845.jpg

... and if by any chance it starts raining and you don't have an umbrella, borrow one and don't forget to return it here when the rain is over :)

DDH_3856.jpg

It's typical for the people here to dry their laundry at and over the narrow streets. Now imagine the smell of the clean clothes :)

DDH_3859.jpg

At some point we ran into this motor show of those simpatico three-wheeled vehicles, their sound suggested they are built upon the engines of motorcycles but interestingly it seems they are allowed to be driven without vehicle registration. Interesting.

DDH_3868.jpg

DDH_3869.jpg

DDH_3870.jpg

Scenic laundry drying at one of the houses built on the top. The wind and the Sun are the best and the most eco dryer, aren't they :)

DDH_3874.jpg

Few more views from the external alley that took my breath away and a lot of storage from my camera card memory :)

DDH_3876.jpg

DDH_3893.jpg

DDH_3895.jpg

DDH_3877.jpg

I love getting lost in the small streets, pathways and alleys. They are away from the noise of the crowd and there are always things that could be found within a specific time interval and then they disappear, one reason or another.

DDH_3818.jpg

We check few artisan and art shops and it was very pleasant to exchange few words with their owners. I found out the local artists are very open, the most of them looked happy.

DDH_3851.jpg

DDH_3832.jpg

Another colorful street details, caressing the eyes.

DDH_3855.jpg

As my final image from this story I have decided to show you this huge tall wall, that had protected the city in the past, now covered with this thick knots formed by the roots of the plants growing here for centuries.

DDH_3896.jpg

Pienza... It felt like an extraordinary and great place to visit and live as I enjoyed every second from my time spent there! I hope my story gives you a proper glimpse!


Thank you for your time and support, please check out below few other ways to encourage me in my difficult visual art endeavor and stay in touch!


My photo site: https://hadjiyvanov.com/


My twitter: https://twitter.com/hadjiyvanov


My single edition unique digital art NFT on Ethereum at OpenSea: https://opensea.io/collection/art-by-lightcaptured


You could get a license here for some of my visual works approved by the quality review team of Adobe, Inc.: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured


My NFTShowroom Gallery with NFTs for art collectors: https://nftshowroom.com/lightcaptured/gallery


My Lensy.io Gallery with Photos for NFT collectors: https://lensy.io/lightcaptured


My NFT art works on EOS: https://gallery.pixeos.art/profiles/damian-hadjiyvanov



I use and recommend those services below, following my referral links is a win-win for both you and me:



Copyright: Damian Hadjiyvanov, Light Captured
For licensing my photos, please drop me a message on Discord: lightcaptured#2698

lightcapturedbanner.jpeg

Have a great day, stay safe, stay strong and let your muse be always on your shoulder!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency