Argentina - Hike in the mountains to the Peñón Colorado viewpoint in Merlo, San Luis. / Caminata en las montañas hacia el mirador del Peñón Colorado en Merlo, San Luis ❤️🌄⭐️

A few weeks ago I was out for a walk in the province of San Luis, precisely in the city of Merlo. This trip was part of an incredible month of vacation that my friend and I had. I would like to be there again. Who would not like to live traveling? 💛

Unas semanas atrás estuve de paseo en la provincia de San Luis, precisamente en la ciudad de Merlo. Este viaje fue parte del increíble mes de vacaciones que tuvimos mi amiga y yo. Quisiera volver a estar ahí. ¿A quién no le gustaría vivir viajando? 💛

IMG_20210402_124247441.jpg

That day my friend was pretty tired (from vacation) so she stayed home to rest, but I wanted to take advantage of the day to go for a walk, even though I could see some pretty ugly clouds up the mountain. It looked like it was going to rain, but luckily it didn't.

Ese día mi amiga estaba bastante cansada (de las vacaciones) así que se quedó en la casa a descansar, pero yo quise aprovechar el día para ir a dar un paseo, a pesar de que se veían unas nubes bastante feas montaña arriba. Parecía que iba a llover, pero afortunadamente no fue así.

IMG_20210402_121324997.jpg

Searching on the internet, I found a way up the mountain. It was an hour's walk to reach a viewpoint called "Mirador del Peñón Colorado". I thought "well, an hour is not long", so I set out on my journey. The first surprise that I found was that, according to Google Maps, it had to cross "a river". This was the river. Drier than my wallet 😂.

Buscando en Internet, encontré un camino para acceder montaña arriba. Era una caminata de una hora hasta llegar a un mirador llamado "Mirador del Peñón Colorado". Pensé "bueno, una hora no es mucho", así que emprendí mi viaje. La primer sorpresa que me encontré fue que, según Google Maps, debía atravesar "un río". Este era el río. Más seco que mi billetera 😂.

IMG_20210402_115850080.jpg

I continued my way. The path was more of a street. There were several brave people who went by car or even by bicycle. For my part, I was pushing my legs to the maximum by taking them uphill.

Continué mi camino. El sendero era más bien una calle. Habían varios valientes que iban en automóvil o incluso en bicicleta. Por mi parte yo, estaba esforzando al máximo a mis piernas llevandolas cuesta arriba.

IMG_20210402_130544385.jpg

After about twenty-five minutes of walking, you could already see the city from above, but that was not the highest yet.

Luego de unos veinticinco minutos de caminata, ya se podía ver la ciudad desde arriba, pero eso no era lo más alto aún.

IMG_20210402_123933831.jpgIMG_20210402_124000608.jpg

In the middle of the route, there was a kind of sanctuary to the saint "San Expedito". This saint is the one of "just and urgent causes", for which many people built offerings for him as a sign of gratitude "for the favors granted". This seemed interesting to me.

En la mitad del recorrido, había una especie de santuario al santo "San Expedito". Este santo es el de las "causas justas y urgentes", por lo cual mucha gente construyó ofrendas para él en señal de agradecimiento "por los favores concedidos". Esto me pareció interesante.

IMG_20210402_123652461.jpg

During my entire journey, apart from a few bugs, the only animal I saw was an "iguana." But it was only a bottle of beer 😂.

Durante toda mi travesía, además de unos cuantos bichos, el único animal que vi fue una "iguana". Pero solo se trataba de una botella de cerveza 😂.

IMG_20210402_130533993.jpg

Finally, after the hour of walking that Google promised me, I reached the viewpoint. It wasn't a very elaborate place, just an edge on the mountain that you could get up close to and get a good view from above.

Finalmente, luego de la hora de caminata que me prometió Google, llegué al mirador. No era un lugar muy elaborado, solo un borde en la montaña al que podías acercarte y obtener una buena vista desde arriba.

IMG_20210402_124007473.jpg
IMG_20210402_125006900.jpg

From there you could see the dry stream. I do not know if at any time of the year it has water, or for what reason it did not. Anyway, I found the white stones picturesque.

Desde allí podías ver el arroyo seco. No sé si en algún momento del año tiene agua, o por qué razón no la tenía. De todos modos, las piedras blancas me parecieron pintorescas.

IMG_20210402_123921673.jpg

This hike was quite a challenge for me. Although my physical condition at some point in my life was good, it has been a long time since I exerted as much effort as walking up a mountain. But in the end everything went well, the next day my legs didn't hurt so it was a good sign 😃❤️.

Esta caminata fue todo un desafío para mí. Si bien mi estado físico en algún momento de mi vida fue bueno, hace mucho que no hacía tanto esfuerzo como caminar hacia arriba de una montaña. Pero al final todo salió bien, al otro día no me dolían las piernas así que fue una buena señal 😃❤️.

Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading ❤️.
¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer ❤️.

With love. / Con amor.
Lau 💕.

(All the images were taken by me. / Todas las imágenes las tomé yo).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency