Inday Clara travels Solo #41 | Neak Pean - The Island Temple

From Banteay Kdei to Ta Prohm to Pre Rup then to Ta Som, so far its been an amazing adventure visiting all these temples and I was so glad my granny bike haven't given up on me yet however there was still more to see. On my way to another big and famous temple, I noticed some tourists taking a stop at what look like to be in the middle of a huge lake. I got curious and decided to check it out myself.

I parked my granny bike and followed a bunch of people unto a narrow wooden pathway in the middle of what looked like a swamp or a dried out lake. A feeling of excitement came over me as my imagination was filled with thoughts and images of what could be found by the end of this path. A huge temple? or another Jungle-like exploration?

DSCF6970.JPG

Beside this wooden path were trees lined up on the sides and yet provide no shade under the scorching heat of the sun. Scanning the view, I concluded that this used to be glorious lake all those years but now is just a died out swamp with no life however it does gives you a nostalgic and calming feeling you can't explain. I continued to walk to reach what was beyond.

DSCF6969.JPG

DSCF7005.JPG

DSCF6975.JPG

DSCF6971.JPG


A small pond was the first sight I stumbled upon. Other tourists were gathered on the right side. Luscious trees were now seen on the background providing color and shade as people continued to survey the place. And like them, I did my own sight seeing. The back of this pond was a much more bigger pond...

DSCF6980.JPG

DSCF6981.JPG

Lo, and behold, A simple yet imposing temple sit on the middle of a small island in the middle of this pond; and when you think of it, this pond is in the middle of a bigger island in the middle of a bigger lake.

DSCF6985.JPG

Neak Pean they call it. Neak came from the Sanskrit word "Naga" which means serpents and Pean means "wave around". Thus, Neak Pean is translated as "entwining serpents". However, earlier this temple was known to be Rajyasri which means "Kingdom's bightness" which probably indicates that there is more to this uncanny temple than that which meets the eye.

This temple is located in an island in the middle of a "baray", an artificial body of water or reservoir. What I initially thought was "a glorious lake" was a huge baray famously known as Japatataka Baray which measures 3500m by 900m.

DSCF6983.JPG

DSCF6987.JPG

What makes Neak Pean exceptional is its structure. Compared to most other Khmer temples build with a square base, Neak Pean was built on an artificial island 350m in diameter with a circular step platform of 14m diameter in the middle of a square pond. This larger pond sits in the middle of 4 other small ponds placed in the north, east, west and south sides. Each small pond is connected to the central pond with a small sandstone structure or "chapel".

The chapel on the east pond

DSCF6988.JPG

The deity Balaha

DSCF6986b.JPG

If you look closely, a horse statue "Balaha" faces Nean Peak. Balaha was said to be a reincarnation of a Buddhist deity Bodhisattva Avalokeitesvara. And those protruding two smaller structures near it are the tails of "the Entwined Serpents" which is found on the base of the circular platform. It can only be seen during dry season.

Neak Pean was attributed to medical purposes. It was said that people during this past civilization would come and pay homage and take a bath on the central pond because of its sacred healing powers.

DSCF6989.JPG

DSCF6991.JPG


I continued my short walk around the central pond as people hanged out in shaded spots. As I neared my end, I left with a smiling face with my thoughts wishing If I was to live in any part of of Angkor Wat in the past, I would have to be closer to this mystical temple and pond. It was probably so beautiful back then. Another memorable adventure within the heart of Angkor Wat Heritage Park. I'll see you on my next blog. Thank you for dropping by. Sending you love and light.

DSCF7001.JPG


2021_0619_11372000a.jpg

Clara Pilca

Mermaid by day, Witch by night. Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations. Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment. Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency