Viljandi, Estonia. Where the hell do i eat!! June 2021

I was based here for three nights, I had lots of windows to climb through!
My bad! I should have stayed longer either in Parnu or Tartu, and travelled daily.

SPG_7552.jpeg

i had booked into what seemed to be the best hotel available, well I think it was the only hotel that looked half decent if im being honest. It was parked on top of a shopping mall, right in the centre.

I use the word "centre" with tongue firmly in cheek.

Arriving to check into the Centrum Hotel, about 45 mins early, only to be told by the less than friendly receptionist, that I would be charged €20, for the privilege

"and you can fuck off too'; thought I
" I will imbibe some alcohol and wait;" said I,
" where do I find the bar?"

"we do not have a bar, you can buy drinks from reception" said she, casually pointing to a cooler over her left shoulder and handing me a price list.

I got the impression she was well used to this.

"I shall go sit in my car; I'll be back"
as off i went lugging my case behind me.

It hasn't started well has it, surely it can only get better?

I shall take a stroll in the morning, its been a long day, i had got my leg over several times during the day; this evening I just want food and cider.

Oh Dear!

This town is seriously lacking in places to eat, the few places that were available looked run down and shabby: and were empty! That is not a good

No macadees not even a pizza place, this is not a foodie paradise and definitely not for a selective eater such as I.

There was a superb little fast food truck on the bus station car park, where i became a regular, enjoying wonderous kebabs, and burgers, and fries. Washed down with my cans of Somersby apple cider.

Ladies, I am a cheap date, hit me up and knock yourselves out!

SPG_7518.jpeg

SPG_7517.jpeg

SPG_7513.jpeg

Some of the buildings in the town as I strolled down to the lake were tired and jaded, some boarded up, inaccessible.

SPG_7519.jpeg

SPG_7522.jpeg

SPG_7527.jpeg

SPG_7525.jpeg

Viljandi lake, by comparison is a great place, a small flat sandy area had attracted sun worshippers of all ages, volley ball courts, tennis courts and play areas that should be busy with out of school clubs and families, when they raise from their slumber.

I'm an early bird
I like my worms

SPG_7529.jpeg

[source}(unknown, uncredited)

SPG_7524.jpeg

Is it my perception, or has a lot of the river area been reclaimed?

SPG_7539.jpeg

SPG_7542.jpeg

It was a bit of a hike the route back to town via, the remnants of the old fortress, the views from the top made it worth it

SPG_7541.jpeg

SPG_7540.jpeg

The remains of the once impressive germanic fortress, which must have been pretty formidable base for the Teutonic Knights, it took 200 years to fully complete.

SPG_7530.jpeg

{source}(unknown, uncredited)

SPG_7533.jpeg

Constructed in 1911, to a height of 95ft the water tower was in use supplying fresh water for 50 years, it is now, when open, a place for tourists to visit for scenic views over the area.

SPG_7536.jpeg

SPG_7537.jpeg

SPG_7546.jpeg

SPG_7547.jpeg

just a short stroll brought be back to the main area of the town, the lovely old streets still quiet.

SPG_7545.jpeg

SPG_7543.jpeg

Passing on my way, a church dedicated to the legend that was John the Baptist, it was closed down in 1950 and put to good use as a warehouse.

So my short walk around Viljandi ends, it was OK, it was a new experience, its always good to visit places one doesn't even know existed

It has been read that Viljandi is quoted as, cute, adorable and a jewel of a town, a centre for culture.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency