It is nearly the Motherland, but not quite. Narva. Estonia, July 2021

IMG_5517 2.jpeg

No I haven't lost the plot, my bearings, nor my diary entries, this is The Honky Tonk, Cantina in Tallinn. First visited 3 weeks ago, and I returned as it was my last night before flying back to the UK.

IMG_5516.jpeg

As I perused the menu, the waitress approached, I never forget a pretty face, and this lady was statuesque, the ladies of the Baltic Region really are stunning, (sorry just following my notes).

The conversation ran something along these lines ( I wasn't taking shorthand, I was too enrapt, staring into eyes that could melt ice).

The Godess (TG), " Hey, hello again, you were here sometime ago"

The mortal (TM), " Hi, yes, I had to come back, its my last night in your beautiful country"

TG " Thank you, where have you been, did you visit the Islands"

TM " No, I didnt go there, maybe next time I visit, This time a bit of a road trip all over, I have just got back from Narva"

TG " Tch, Tch, that is not Estonia, that is Russia, not a nice place"...........

............ and so that brings me back to Narva

SPG_8322.jpeg

I guess it's claim to fame is that it is just a stones throw from Russia, and with an ever falling population of whom just under 40% are actually Russian I guess my Baltic Beauty wasn't far off the mark! 98% of Narva was flattened during WW2, mostly by Russian bombing raids whilst pushing back the German forces.

So let's have a walk.

SPG_8324.jpeg

Even the corporate street art on the HIV clinic seemed drab, is this as good as it gets?

Let's make it as good as possible, it was a hot very hot afternoon.

Along the Narva River

SPG_8158.jpeg

To our left we see the rebuilt Fortress of Narva, to the right the imposing fortress of Ivangorod, Russia

SPG_8163.jpeg

Narva Fortress

SPG_8159.jpeg

Ivangorod Castle, Russia

SPG_8184.jpeg

SPG_8157.jpeg

Estonian beaches

SPG_8182.jpeg

SPG_8164.jpeg

Russian beaches

SPG_8168.jpeg

The founding members of The Blue Oyster Club were visiting Narva today!

SPG_8170.jpeg

SPG_8171.jpeg

Ivanograd looks very affluent, complete with its own border guards. Security fence along the stretch of riverbank

SPG_8175.jpeg

I wandered up to the railway bridge

SPG_8173.jpeg

SPG_8181.jpeg

Took a selfie and turned around

IMG_5571.jpeg

The Border

SPG_8190.jpeg

SPG_8200.jpeg

Flags: worth dying for?

One road in, one road out

SPG_8201.jpeg

SPG_8197.jpeg

SPG_8203.jpeg

The queues were leaving the Motherland

SPG_8194.jpeg

SPG_8195.jpeg

Beautiful Ivanograd..............

SPG_8204.jpeg

.........Welcome to Narva

SPG_8205.jpeg

SPG_8206.jpeg

SPG_8311.jpeg

I need to cool off.

SPG_8314.jpeg

SPG_8320.jpeg

The Resurrection of Christ Cathedral, built in the mid 1890's this was the only building left standing after the 1944 bombing of Narva.

SPG_8315.jpeg

Early evening, a service in progress, I wandered in , boy was it nice and cold inside.

SPG_8316.jpeg

SPG_8317.jpeg

SPG_8318.jpeg

SPG_8319.jpeg

Nicely chilled I departed and left the flock to it.

SPG_8321.jpeg

SPG_8313.jpeg

SPG_8211.jpeg

A stroll through the functional Soviet blocks eventually brought me to a bridge with some great views

SPG_8309.jpeg

SPG_8308.jpeg

SPG_8305.jpeg

There is something so romantic, evocative and thought provoking, for me at least, in seeing an engine hauling freight.This one was pointing towards Russia.

So that was Narva, I am glad that I visited.

To get back into the UK I visited here to satisfy the cockgobbling puppet masters. 65 euros to prove I am a fit and very healthy person.

The forms were in Russian, the attendants spoke Russian. I think she may have sworn at me in Russian when I sneezed heavily.

Not my fault, you go shoving a fucking stick up my nose, I cant be responsible for my body's auto-defence mechanism against unwanted intrusion.

SPG_8214.jpeg

.......and so full circle back to my baltic beauty; or rather the delicious food that I enjoyed.

IMG_5575.jpeg

Farewell for now Estonia. Forever in my heart.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency