Beach clean-up in Northern Albania: Beautiful Lake Shkoder.


I was on second month of my "compulsory vacation" this summer and when decided to do something for my karma. Albania and Balkan in general is known for not being the cleanest of places. Rubbish is literally everywhere. One can maybe remember some of my other blogs from southern Albania, where I was for first time actually shocked on how bad the situation was. Plastic bottles were popping up in the forest like mushrooms after rain. Northern part of the country is sadly not much different.

Now, don't get me wrong. It is absolutely amazing there. The panoramas and whole scenery is gorgeous. It is only when looking around roads, rivers and generally every place suitable for ditching some leftovers.

Lake Shkoder become my base for the month of August and I have fell in love with the place.

The road to nowhere - aka to the old Montenegrin border follows the coast of this magnificent lake. I was cruising up and down this way almost everyday and thus seen the good, the bad and the ugly. Sometimes it is almost tragical, seeing cows and other animals roaming between all the trash. But is it the way how it is done in the present moment in Albania. Nothing being done in organised manner means every little help is needed but could it be enough?

I wanted to contribute a little to this place because I was feeling actually really thankful for the privilege of being here in this uncertain times. Everyday swimming on almost private beaches in temperatures reaching 36°C, it was my little piece of paradise.

And so one day I have started going for my daily swim with an extra bag for rubbish until one of my favourite beaches was free of plastic waste.

What a great feeling it is coming back after a swim, with wind in your hair, knowing that you left the place a little nicer, so when you or anybody else come back next time, the place is more welcoming. Plus, in my opinion the psychological effect of the beach being clean now, could stop the bad actors from polluting it again as fast as before...

All the best,

Global Local

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency