Lost in the forest - Found the Path- Part 2

I've heard a few times on the newspaper that tourists get lost while visiting on Son Tra peninsula in Da Nang, there were cases of being lost for nearly 2 days, and most of them are foreign tourists. Perhaps the reasons are because they were engrossed in discovery and their subjectivity. Unexpectedly, one day I also had the opportunity to experience this incident because of my subjective thought that this peninsula is as small as my nostrils.

image.png

image.png

I knew I was lost because the further I went, the more trees and big rocks I saw on the road, unlike when I came down. The forest was so dark that I couldn't see anything even if I held up five fingers in front of my face. I wanted to return but I got lost again because I couldn't see the old road I just passed. I was quite bewildered and a little hasty when climbing through the rocky road. And then I slipped and fell due to my carelessness, fortunately I only scratched my right knee and broke the phone screen.

image.png

To calm myself down, I sat down on the rock next to me, turned off the flashlight, and regulated my breathing to calm down and think more clearly. Son Tra Forest is murky, densely packed with trees, so it is difficult to find the way, but in return, around the peninsula is the sea. Finding a way to the sea will be safer, I may see fishermen fishing near the shore and ask for help or I can wait until morning. The greatest danger when getting lost in the forest is not wild animals, but the panic that leads to accidents such as falling on a rock causing head injury, or exhaustion. I had to stand between 2 options to find the way to the sea and wait for tomorrow to return or continue to cross the forest to find the way up?

My phone was broken, the water was gone, there was no knife to make a path, either option was difficult, and I decided to choose the hardest one is to go through the forest to find a way up. When I sat in the dark, I tried to listen to the sounds around me, from which to identify the map in my head and comforted myself that "anyway it has happened, experiencing once in a lifetime getting lost in the forest is cool enough. Well, and I will not get this chance very often! "

image.png

image.png

After changing my mind, I found that my breathing was light and peaceful, not gasping for fear and insecurity as before. And there's something saying in my head, telling me it's the left side. I got up and turned on the flashlight in the left direction, walking slowly while looking at the light and looking at the night scenery. The trees here are very diverse, sometimes I see the blue animal eyes reflected when the light shines through. Even though it's a bit creepy, I still think it's beautiful. I kept walking but didn't analyse much, mainly felt with my senses. After climbing a long distance, I suddenly met a water bottle with half yellow water inside. I opened the bottle and smelled it, it smelled like tea, I tasted it and it was "delicious". I think it's probably because I'm so thirsty that it's good to drink something or is it because the water is really good?

image.png

image.png

The smell of the tea is very strange, the water is still drinkable, I guess it is left by the fisherman. Thinking of this, I thought "well, which way do they go?" then shone the lights around and saw that there was a path that is cleared by knife. I was so happy that I finally found my way and so excited to follow that path, but when I reached a section, I lost the track again due to the rocks. The tree grows sparsely on the rocks, so it is not possible to track the tree being hit by the knife anymore. Again, I had to choose a direction to climb up intuitively.

At this point, my muscles were tired and my knee began to hurt from the fall earlier, I turned off the light and rested for about 1 minute and then continued walking. As I climbed up, I suddenly saw a dim light ahead. At first, I thought it was an illusion caused by looking at the white light emitted by the flashlight too much, many people called it night blindness. Regardless, I continued to direct that illusion up and saw that it was the concrete road I passed through this afternoon to walk in the forest. My feeling at that time was that I had never felt so happy like this, the closer I got to the road, the more I said to myself "I'm alive". I climbed over the railing of the road then shone the light to left and right to know which part of the road I was in and found the path in the evening, I found it is about 8-10m away. Oh not too far, not bad.

image.png

Out of the woods and no longer covered by trees, the light from the distant city reflected in the sky was bright enough for my eyes to see my surroundings. The cool air was far from the heat in the forest and the fatigue made me lie down on the main road for a while enjoying the sea breeze. I went slowly to enjoy the night and the cool wind to the place to get the car, opened the phone with a half-broken screen and looked at the clock, it was 18:37, more than 1 hour struggling in the forest.

image.png

After changing my mind, I found that my breathing was light and peaceful, not gasping for fear and insecurity as before. And there's something saying in my head, telling me it's the left side. I got up and turned on the flashlight in the left direction, walking slowly while looking at the light and looking at the night scenery. The trees here are very diverse, sometimes I see the blue animal eyes reflected when the light shines through. Even though it's a bit creepy, I still think it's beautiful. I kept walking but didn't analyse much, mainly felt with my senses. After climbing a long distance, I suddenly met a water bottle with half yellow water inside. I opened the bottle and smelled it, it smelled like tea, I tasted it and it was "delicious". I think it's probably because I'm so thirsty that it's good to drink something or is it because the water is really good?

The smell of the tea is very strange, the water is still drinkable, I guess it is left by the fisherman. Thinking of this, I thought "well, which way do they go?" then shone the lights around and saw that there was a path that is cleared by knife. I was so happy that I finally found my way and so excited to follow that path, but when I reached a section, I lost the track again due to the rocks. The tree grows sparsely on the rocks, so it is not possible to track the tree being hit by the knife anymore. Again, I had to choose a direction to climb up intuitively.

At this point, my muscles were tired and my knee began to hurt from the fall earlier, I turned off the light and rested for about 1 minute and then continued walking. As I climbed up, I suddenly saw a dim light ahead. At first, I thought it was an illusion caused by looking at the white light emitted by the flashlight too much, many people called it night blindness. Regardless, I continued to direct that illusion up and saw that it was the concrete road I passed through this afternoon to walk in the forest. My feeling at that time was that I had never felt so happy like this, the closer I got to the road, the more I said to myself "I'm alive". I climbed over the railing of the road then shone the light to left and right to know which part of the road I was in and found the path in the evening, I found it is about 8-10m away. Oh not too far, not bad.

Out of the woods and no longer covered by trees, the light from the distant city reflected in the sky was bright enough for my eyes to see my surroundings. The cool air was far from the heat in the forest and the fatigue made me lie down on the main road for a while enjoying the sea breeze. I went slowly to enjoy the night and the cool wind to the place to get the car, opened the phone with a half-broken screen and looked at the clock, it was 18:37, more than 1 hour struggling in the forest.

I was back here many with some other friends @trangbaby and @whynotcamp.

Thank you for reading and have a great day, all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency