A Place For The Casualties Of War // BANGOUR VILLAGE HOSPITAL, SCOTLAND.

The Shop.jpg

In a wooded area near Livingston in Scotland lies the battered remains of Bangour Village. A hospital complex used to treat the casualties of both World Wars.

Nurse Man.jpg

The hospital grounds were designed to look and feel like a small Scottish village and it's goal was to bring calm and security to those with TB, PTSD and all sorts of disorders that haunt us long after a conflict has resolved.

church.jpg

The town even has a beautiful old church which pre-dates the hospital. It is the only building left that is still used, once a year for a procession on memorial day.

Construction 2.jpg
-My goal on this visit was to recreate a bunch of old images I found of the place, it was a fairly straightforward mission. I used all the correct lenses, all from the 30's and 40's and adapted to my DSLR for the correct focal ranges and aspect ratios. This image was the toughest but I think I nailed it?-

Construction 3.jpg

And below you can see both of them stitched together.

Construction.jpg

Some of the most interesting sites are the sports facilities. An old bowling green can be found, a putting green for the golfers and a full sized football pitch which would be frequented by the local professionals, for training and entertainment purposes.

Ward 33.jpg

The old shop is one of the fiorst buildings you come across and it has by far the best historical image. Its of the residents, carers and friends out on the grass in the heat of summer. A photograph would of been such a rare occurrence for most of the people in this photo.

The Shop 2.jpg
The Shop 3.jpg
The Shop.jpg

Even the buses served the area. Here is a self portrait of me being a dickhead as usual.

hitcher.jpg

Anyway, I hope you liked this article and post. I couldn't help myself sharing it as I just stumbled across the images on my old hard drive. The complex is currently being developed into housing but the buildings are listed and I believe they are being converted. Its good for those in need of homes but its always sad to see such derelict history cleaned and polished. Removes the charm.

Peace and love,
C

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency