HAPPIEST PLACE ON EARTH | DISNEYLAND: MY CHILDHOOD DREAM! | HK

HONGKONG DISNEYLAND

When I was young, I always loved watching Disney channel series and movies. My mom would give screen time as a reward when I finish my schoolworks when I get home. I'd stay up long to watch my favorite shows. I would buy Disney Princesses dolls, Toy story figurines and Mickey mouse and friends stuffed toys. I always told my mom that when we have the means to travel, I'd want to go to all of the Disney parks in the world. When I had work, I started saving up for it and then I told my stepdad that we will go to Hong Kong when he (overseas worker) gets back for vacation. I was so excited when he agreed and invited my mom's sister's family to join us. I planned our itinerary as well and put Disneyland on top of the list. šŸ•¶


Sharing with you what might help you on your travel there and what to expect. šŸ˜„

1.png


šŸŒŸ HOW MANY DISNEYLANDS IN THE WORLD

There are 6 Disneyland parks in the world.

  1. Disneyland in Anaheim, California
  2. Disneyland Paris
  3. Tokyo Disneyland and Disney Sea
  4. Shanghai Disneyland
  5. Hong Kong Disneyland [//]:# (!pinmapple 22.313700 lat 114.040533 long d3scr)
  6. Disneyland Florida

Among them, Hong Kong Disneyland is the smallest but it still attracts a lot of tourists and locals and offers fun rides and adventure.

(Have you been to any of these and blogged about it? I wish to read it hope you can send me your links in the comments please.)

šŸŒŸ WHEN TO GO TO HONGKONG DISNEYLAND:

We went there around October of 2018 and there were a lot of people because it was on a weekend and I think there was a public holiday too. I researched on the best time to go to Disneyland and it says that you should consider going on a weekday where locals would be at school or at work. You also have to search on public holidays and avoid those days because a lot of Chinese would come to Hong Kong for vacation and go to Disneyland.

šŸŒŸ HOW TO GET THERE:

MTR or Mass Transit Railway is the cheaper and convenient way to get there. It is a 30-minute ride from the 3 different MTR stations: Hong Kong International Airport MTR station , Kowloon Station or Hong Kong Station.

You can also get there via private transfers, taxi or bus.

šŸŒŸ WHERE TO BOOK TICKETS

You can buy your tickets at Hong Kong Disneyland's website. For a 1-day pass it would cost around 60-80 USD depending on your age, while Seniors get way cheaper price. You can get discounts on different travel websites such as Klook or Traveloka. They also have a lot of package options that include discounts for groups and meal coupons. Advance online booking is recommended to get affordable tickets.


5.png

šŸŒŸ WHAT ARE THE ATTRACTIONS:

There are 7 themed areas that you will see in the map which you can ask from the entrance or download. Some rides were still closed or under construction when we went there. So hopefully I can come back if I'd have another chance.

  1. Adventureland includes Jungle River Cruise, Tarzan's Tree House and Festival of the Lion King. We were able to try all of these! I loved the Jungle River Cruise where we would ride on a boat and see different sights and animals (which were robots that looked realistic) and a really funny guide. My baby cousin loved the Lion King performance!

  2. Grizzly Gulch has Big Grizzly Mountain Runaway Mine Cars and Geyser Gulch. The Big Grizzly was a roller coaster ride that I tried with my stepdad, auntie and cousins while my mom was taking care of my baby cousin. It was a fun ride for teenagers! Geyser Gulch was not open at that time.

  3. Main Street, USA includes Animation Academy where my cousins were taught how to draw Pluto, Mickey's dog. They newly opened the Royal Princess garden.

  4. Mystic Point has Mystic Manor and Garden of wonders. We were only able to go around Garden of wonders.

  5. Tomorrowland offers Iron Man Experience, Hyperspace Mountain and Orbitron that we were able to try. There is also Starwars Take Over and Buzz Light Year Astro Blasters. Some attractions had really long lines and we wanted to make the most of the day so we had to find other rides that had fewer people.

  6. Toy Story Land has RC Racer, Toy Soldier Parachute Jump and Slinky Dog spin. My cousins and I did RC Racer and Toy Soldier Parachute which were nice for teens who are adrenaline junkies. Rides were really children friendly but I still enjoyed it and hopefully ride bigger and scarier ones soon!

  7. Fantasyland offers HongKong Disneyland Castle (so sad it was under construction when we went there, then they opened the year after lol), It's a Small World (a really cute ride that children will enjoy!), Fantasy Garden and The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh.


4.png

šŸŒŸ WHAT ELSE TO EXPECT:
You would see a lot of your favorite Disney characters during the parade. There is a day parade and a night parade and performers were entertaining to watch! There are snack bars, food stalls, restaurants, cafe and souvenir shops that you can explore. The tourists there usually buy the famous Mickey ears headband and shirts. They also have themed hotels if you wish to stay overnight in the magical land.

1 full day was enough for my family and I to go around the park and enjoy some rides. We had to go there as early as the opening time and stay until they closed. If you want to take your time and enjoy all of the rides then you might as well get the 2-day pass ticket which is also priced cheaper.

Women's CrossFit Sports Photo Collage.png


šŸŒŸ WHAT TO DO:

Take lots of pictures with your childhood favorite characters! Take pictures with the rides you experienced or if you can, take some videos so you can relive the experience (but this can be quite hard as some rides discourage use of devices)! Go to as much rides and shows as you can. You can also check out how to avail Fastpass tickets to skip long lines. Make sure to watch amazing performances and parades! Get yourself a remembrance or souvenir to bring home or give as gift. There are lots of merchandise from different themed shops. Try their snacks and meals when you get hungry from all the playing and walking.

2.png


20181022_203228.jpg


It was an amazing experience and the child in me was so happy! And what's even better than spending it with your family! It was also our first international trip as a family so it was definitely memorable! All smiles and laughter as we say "See you again, Disney!"


The next on my list would be Tokyo Disneyland someday. My stepdad already went there so I might be going alone or can I drag any of you hivers? šŸ˜†

Anyway, hope you enjoyed reading and I'll see you on my next post!

Here's some photodump! šŸ¤—šŸ¤—
20181022_190131.jpg

44874051_2158884814131642_163518342785662976_n.jpg

44916291_2158872830799507_1767049880305401856_n.jpg

44929808_2158872110799579_6679437502702419968_n.jpg

20181022_203714.jpg

20181022_185850.jpg


Untitled design (1).png

SHANNA JEN

Welcome to Chill with Shanna. Shanna is a life enthusiast and a wanderer. She is easy going, spontaneous and want to challenge herself by testing her limits. She aspires to be an effective storyteller and content creator.

If you like to hear her stories and experiences, please upvote, follow and leave a comment. It will be much appreciated. šŸ˜Š

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency