Fall Camping at Tawas Pointe State Park #wednesdaywalk

IMG_20210918_100045.jpg


This past weekend we had some of the most beautiful weather that you can expect this time of year. The temperatures were around 70 during the day and 50 at night, perfect weather to be out of the house and spending a weekend camping.

Fall camping (even though Fall doesn't start until today) is one of our favorite activities. The only bad part about Fall camping is the fact that the trips are far too short since school is in session and we aren't able to take as much time away from work.

On this particular trip we headed North East to Tawas Pointe State Park. We used to visit this park quite frequently, but we found in the Summer months it gets very full and people don't always pay attention to what they are doing. This makes it dangerous for other campers just looking to have a good time. Before this past weekend the last time we stayed there we witnessed no less than two very preventable accidents.

One of the things my wife and I love to do while camping is take our dog Jovi out for a walk each morning around the campground. She loves the sights and smells of a new place. I am going to throw this into the #wednesdaywalk category due to the fact that today is Wednesday and we took a walk.

However, the best pictures I am about to share were taken after our walk when I took a short bike ride on my own.

IMG_20210918_080447.jpg


This picture is the only one I took while we were actually walking. It is on the landward side of the point. The water in front of your is Tawas Bay which is connected to Lake Huron. The land on the other side of the bay is the mainland of Michigan and more specifically the town of Tawas.

IMG_20210918_095436.jpg


By contrast, the rest of the pictures will be on the East side of the pointe so there is nothing but open water between here and Canada. It always amazes me just how vast the Great Lakes are. It's like having our own ocean, just freshwater.

IMG_20210918_095802.jpg


Besides the campground and several private houses, the state park on the pointe also has a beautiful day use area with a playground, areas for having a picnic, and a beach for swimming. It was about 55 degrees F out when I visited, so there weren't any people on the beach.

There is also a lighthouse that you can just make out on the far right of the picture above.

As well as the one below...


IMG_20210918_095829.jpg

IMG_20210918_095821.jpg


Heading back towards the entrance to the park, I came across this little shack sitting precariously on a cliff overlooking the water.

IMG_20210918_100025.jpg


I felt obliged to take some pictures. I know that in the past couple of years, the level of Lake Huron has risen quite a bit and many of the shore areas have been either washed away or significantly reduced. I know a lady who lives up in this area and she said that people in the seawall business have been making a killing lately with the raised water levels.

IMG_20210918_100045.jpg

IMG_20210918_100110.jpg


I wanted to do some editing to these pictures, but quite honestly, I ran out of time and I don't think I would have known what to do with them anyway. My Google photos has some stylized filters that I was thinking about applying, but I was worried about overwriting the original image, so I held off.

Some of the effects really made the colors pop and it was kind of cool, so I might have to play around with them again in the future.

Personally, I think these shots turned out beautiful as is, but it isn't that hard when you are working with a landscape that just makes it so easy to take a good picture. Michigan is truly a treasure and I am so happy to call it my home state.

IMG_20210917_221313.jpg


Finally, you might think this picture was taken during the day and that is the sun. The fact it, that is the moon and this was taken in the middle of the night sitting around the campfire. It was such a clear and beautiful night. The moon was so big and bright in the sky.

We have a promotional slogan in my state that simply says "Pure Michigan". This is one of those moments that I think sums that statement up perfectly!

If you ever find yourself heading up the West coast of Lake Huron and you want to stop and stretch your legs in a really spectacular setting, I encourage you to take that right turn off of US23 and make the short drive down to Tawas Pointe State Park. You likely won't be disappointed.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures taken by myself or @mrsbozz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency