Visiting the Tovel Lake 🏞: a jewel of northern Italy 🇮🇹

Tovel lake 🏞

Trentino Alto Adige

paolo 8284.jpg

The Tovel Lake is a jewel of Norther Italy. At an elevation of 1178 m, its surface area is 0.38 km². Very similar to the Braies Lake, it is less known than the latter, and this is a great advantage, since being less "turisty", it is much less frequented.

Me and my friends decided one week-end to take the car and visit it.
We arrived at the lake early in the morning, after a night spent in a local airbnb and a short trekking of 1 hour from the parking spot were we left our car.

paolo 8230.jpg

I have to admit that while I was approaching the lake, I was really tricked by the view. Being the water so clean, the first thing that I saw approaching the lake was the reflex of the mountains on the water. I was thinking: "How is it possible that the mountains are upside-down???", then I realized 🤦‍♂😂.

The view of the lake is mesmerizing, and not only because of the water, but also thanks to the surrounding background. Being in a valley and surrounded by mountains, the game of reflexes is something indescribable. Images can provide an idea of the beauty, but the only way to really appreciate is to visit it. So, if you have never been here, I suggest that you do and I am sure that you will not regret it.

After taking our time to admire the lake and take a lot of nice photos, we started our trekking.

Uphill of the lake it is possible to visit the "malghe".

What is a malga?

That was the same thing that I was thinking when my friends told me about them. I discovered that a malga traditionally is considered a rustic construction in the high mountains intended for shepherds and animal pastures during the summer. They are usually born in strategic points, near grassy expanses that allow the grazing of livestock.

paolo 8269.jpg

paolo 8290.jpg

paolo 8283.jpg

paolo 8268.jpg

They can be found at different heights preceding to the top of the mountain. Obviously the more you proceed and the more snow you find in your way. Of course this largely depends on the period of the year, since during winter the quantity of snow is much greater than during summer, and sometimes it can also be impossible to proceed.
On top of that, air becomes thinner and so the walk starts to become more difficult.

paolo 8277.jpg

paolo 8251.jpg

paolo 8252.jpg

paolo 8254.jpg

Our trekking lasted for 6 hours, we stopped to eat our lunch and we lied on the snow for half an our enjoying the silence and the amazing view.

After this break, we started descending taking a different path. From a certain point it was also possible to have a view of the lake from above.

paolo 8296.jpg

This was a nice experience, for different reasons:

  • the location, which was really beautiful;
  • the company, since I had a lot of fun with my friends;
  • the trekking, which was difficult and tiring, but it was worth it, since doing sport in the nature is always a great way to use your time.

If you enjoyed the post, please leave an upvote and/or a comment and feel free to follow me if you want to see my next post about speleology/climbing/skydiving and all the other crazy things I love to do.

Thanks for visiting

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency