Behind the scenes of a beautiful journey to Blue Kulong in Bangka Indonesia

DSC03683-01.jpeg
DSC03740-01.jpeg

KULONG BIRU (Blue Kulong) or another name, Kaolin Lake is a tourist spot in Bangka that made me fall in love when I saw the beauty of the blue lake (because I really like the blue color) and there is also a green lake. Very amazing view.

My first trip to the island of Bangka began during the end of semester holidays in December 2017. At that time, one of my students named Annisa offered a vacation at her house, which is in Sungai Liat. Sungai Liat is a sub-district which is also the capital of Bangka Regency in the province of the Bangka Belitung Islands, Indonesia.

Let's remember that unforgettable journey. Annisa is a smart, sweet, and spoiled student. She always called herself "Sister" to everyone, including me. If professionally, my job at school as administrative and finance clerk. I am quite close to these high school students, apart from work, so they can share anything with me who is far from their family (because of the boarding school) and considers me as their older sister.

At first, I had no plans and didn't think of going on vacation to Sungai Liat or Bangka. But Annisa kept pushing, seducing and whining every time she met me. She invited teachers who were not married and also me to vacation in their area. Even Annisa has told her mother and family. So Annisa's mother directly called me to come to their house and have a vacation together. Makes me feel surprised because of the attitude of this extraordinary child. Wkwk.

And in the end I ordered a plane ticket to leave without Annisa knowing, because it would be a surprise for her. At first I was going on vacation for only 3 days to 5 days. And at that time I went alone because Annisa and the others had left the dormitory earlier than I was still on duty at school.

Actually for traveling alone, I'm used to it. It's just that this trip is very different and there are obstacles including:

  • While taking the bus from the terminal to the airport, it was raining heavily.
  • There are only 2 passengers on the airport bus.
  • Due to heavy rain, the bus speed was not as fast as usual so I was worried that I would be late to the airport.
  • When I entered the airport area, the bus officer prioritized lowering male passengers over me. Automatically my fear of being late is getting bigger.
  • The first time I slept at the airport and missed the plane.

And the fact that I was a few minutes late, even though the airline staff helped me to check, the plane still flew. The officer told me to report this and it turned out that I was not the only one who was late but there were dozens of people on the same route, namely to Depati Amir Airport (Pangkal Pinang). The passengers were angry because this was the airline's fault because the check-in process did not go according to procedure. Therefore, the airline provides a free ticket exchange for the next hour flight. God is very good for helping me through today even though I get tickets tomorrow at 05.00 am. However, we must be grateful.
Meanwhile at Pangkal Pinang Airport, Annisa and called to ask how I was doing. And my students couldn't believe I was going through all this because I love to surprise and amaze them.

Early in the morning I rushed to check-in so I wouldn't be late even though I hadn't showered yet, I was still sleepy but I had to keep my spirits up. And when they arrived at Pangkal Pinang Airport, they were already waiting for my arrival, including Annisa's mother. Annisa's mother had asked me if she wanted to go home first to clean up and rest, but I convinced Annisa's mother to just continue the journey. And the first destination is Blue Kulong/Kaolin Lake in Bangka.

As far as I remember the trip from the airport to the tourist attractions was not too far (about 1-2 hours) only because this place was new to me so it felt long. And previously we also visited my other students to come with us to the tourist attractions. The view along the road to Koba Bangka Indonesia is the sea by the side of the road. Extraordinary.

Arriving at Blue Kulong/Kaolin Lake, I immediately changed clothes to match the clothes I gave to Annisa and her family. Maintain cohesiveness. I really like the blue color of the lake. Makes me comfortable and calm. This beautiful former mining lake is famous for its bright blue water and white mineral deposits. The color of the lake is beautiful, there is also a greenish one. Access here is very easy, the location is very close to the city and airport. It's just that there is no place to sit around enjoying the view of the lake or to just take shelter. This location is still a mine to this day. So there is only one spot available to take pictures.
DSC03760-02.jpeg
DSC03764-01.jpeg
DSC03763-01.jpeg
One recommendation for a family trip. Location in Belitung. The place is clean. Not too crowded. Lots of scenic photo spots. Besides being free, the local residents are also friendly. A relaxing place to just unwind. The blue water relaxes the eyes. The drawback is that it has not been managed properly. Hopefully in the future the local government will maximize the support facilities around this lake and make this place the main destination that is fun and useful.
DSC03671-01.jpeg
DSC03714-02.jpeg
DSC03732-01.jpeg

See you on my next trip guys.
Thank you for reading, thank you for supporting. Best wishes and good health always.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency