Let's Visit with Me a Sacred Place Gurudongmar Lake, North Sikkim, India 🇮🇳 (My Sikkim Diary #06)

Hello 👋my hive friends, I hope you're sound and safe. Today's journey brings us to a beautiful and sacred lake near Kanchenjunga ranges, Gurudongmar Lake.

dsc00684.jpg

On my previous day I stayed in Lachen and due to bad weather I couldn't visit any tourist site 😒. I read and saw many beautiful pictures in a travel blog on the Internet that there is a beautiful sacred Lake is situated near Lachen. So in the morning I decided to go there. My cottage owner managed a local vehicle 🚗and made himself a guide to go there 😀. Because the road is very tricky and almost a remote and quiet place.

dsc00676.jpg

dsc00583.jpg

dsc00674.jpg

dsc00673.jpg

img_4068.jpg

In this journey I was not alone, I traveled with another two local couples including our guide. Our driver took Gurudongmer road from Lachen city. It took 2 hours and 20 minutes to reach there. Again weather was too bad👎. Due to fog everywhere, sadly we couldn't see the roadside views and of course the great Kanchenjunga ranges 😑.

dsc00598.jpg

dsc00592.jpg

dsc00584.jpg

dsc00596.jpg

dsc00665.jpg

Gurudongmar Lake is a hollowed Lake situated in the midst of the superb Kanchenjunga mountain ranges. It is one of the largest Lake on the world 🌎 and most acclaimed tourist destination in Sikkim. The Lake holds religious importance among Buddhist, Sikhs and Hindus🕉. This Lake is named afterthought author of Tibetan Buddhism Guru Padmasambhava who visited the Lake in the eighth century and presented it to the world 🌎😳. This is frozen in the winter except for one part. Local people believe that Guru Dongmer had once contacted and blessed this Lake and made it incompletely solidified consistently.

dsc00671.jpg

dsc00682.jpg

dsc00594.jpg

dsc00595.jpg

dsc00596.jpg

I found two Sacred Temples important for both Hindu, Buddhist and Shiks people.

dsc00696.jpg

dsc00597.jpg

dsc00638.jpg

There are no shops here 😐. So I had to pack my food before the journey. Also I visited this Lake at the wrong time, that's why I couldn't see the snow and almost completely solidified the frozen Lake 😑. I also missed the Kanchenjunga ranges due to foggy weather. I saw lots of people sitting with their cattles, Yaks, near the temple. So I didn't miss riding them. It was a fun ride.But having flaws, I enjoyed myself on this trip.

I hope you people enjoyed my experience. See you at another destination. Lots of love ❤. Bye

To be continued...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency