A Place for Rejuvenating Mind and Soul, Rumtek Monastery, Gangtok (My Sikkim Diary #02)

๐Ÿ‘‹Hi everyone!! This is me again๐Ÿ˜Š.

Today's journey brings us a beautiful Buddhist Temple, Rumtek Monastery. It is also called Dharma Chakra Centre. It is a Tibetan gompa located in the Indian ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ state of Sikkim's capital Gangtok.

dsc00546.jpg

This Dharma Chakra Centre consists of a stunning temple, the famous Golden Stupa and Tibetan Buddhist Monastery โ˜ธ and it is very special and important relics. It was originally built in the 18th century by ninth Karmapa. When sixth Karmapa left County for China ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ. But in 1959 he came back to Sikkim and decided to renovate this Monastery.

Rumtek Monastery is located in beautiful surroundings ๐Ÿ˜ and has a beautiful and artistic architecture. The walls of this Monastery are covered by many mythological and religious paintings.

I visited there in midmorning. It took me one and half hours drive from my hotel ๐Ÿจ in Gangtok.

dsc00536_copy.jpg

img_3905.jpg

dsc00274.jpg

Rumtek Monastery is on a hill overlooking Gangtok city views.

dsc00523_copy.jpg

The entrance of Monastery. Look at this colourful artwork, isn't it stunning ๐Ÿ˜

dsc00265.jpg

img_3903.jpg

dsc00263.jpg

dsc00534_copy.jpg

Ancient Buddhist mantras are written everywhere in a Tibetan language.

I had to ride a long zigzag stone made street to visit the main temple.

img_3911.jpg

img_3910.jpg

dsc00288.jpg

dsc00290.jpg

It is the Backside views of this Monastery. I crossed this way to reach the main temple. There are many Buddhist young monks roaming everywhere. So I took photos with their permission. They are Peace loving people. And this kid monks are so happy to be here.

img_3915.jpg

This is the main temple entrance.

dsc00549.jpg

dsc00306.jpg

Residential area for monks.This building is also used for meditation and other purposes. But it is restricted for common people.

img_3918.jpg

Golden Stupa is founded in memory of the sixth Karmapa. There is a scripture curved in this long white stone made pole.

img_3451.jpg

dsc00303.jpg

dsc00308.jpg

img_5204.jpg

Two times everyday these brass made lamps were ignited for world peace and dedicated to Buddha.

dsc00302.jpg

dsc00304.jpg

This Temple is decorated by many beautiful artworks so I couldn't resist taking some photos.

img_5198.jpg

img_5202.jpg

There was another temple behind this Golden Stupa. It was located in the high mountains. I couldn't go there because of short time limits. So I came back down and roamed near the temple.

img_5201.jpg

Here is a sitting place and you can also enjoy the Mountains and the whole German city views.

img_3922.jpg

dsc00262.jpg

dsc00529_copy.jpg

I found this curating shop on my way. You can see many beautiful Tibetan artworks and Buddha's status and paintings here.

img_3902.jpg

Mouth Watering vegetable streetside momos,taste of mountains. It was super hot and delicious. Also super cheap, I had to pay only $0.39 .

After spending my afternoon here. I called for a car and went back to my hotel.

I hope you people enjoyed my post. I will come back soon to share my other amazing tour experience. Bye

Lots of love โคโค

To be continued...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency