Sometimes Things Just Go Wrong

Hello Everyone,

I've been working tirelessly for the past few days to bring some kind of epic 3D printing content to the Hive blockchain.

Unfortunately I have not reached that point yet, and have gone somewhat in reverse.

I had to change slicers, from SuperSlicer (due to what I thought was Superslicer profile errors, not sure if I was right about that.) to Cura, then everything went from bad to worse.


100_0426.JPG


I've been printing Test Cubes and print in place gears, and even a print in place fidget spinner.

And although fidget spinners and gears are cool, I didn't print them for fun, and the dreaded cube has seen more print time on my Ender 3 V2 than any other print by far.
Forget about counting sheep for sleep, (plenty of those around) I count cubes these days.

I was working on a wall hook design (still am) but had to put it on hold due to these crazy under extrusion problems.

I have good first layer squish, but printing at 80% flow rate, and the results are visible, missing layers and overall under extrusion.

Even with 80% flow, I cannot print "print in place" parts without the parts fusing together from the compression.

My main issue is extrusion and shell thickness I think.


100_0424.JPG


The layering is quite nice, I'm really pleased with it, just having issues with the under extrusion and parts fusing.


100_0416.JPG



100_0417.JPG


I was able to get the gears spinning with brute force applied with needle nose plyers, but the gears started breaking in half because of the under extrusion.

This terrible defect tells me exactly what I need to know, and is why I'm able to diagnose the extrusion with no doubts.

What I am having trouble with is how I am going to increase the extrusion with decreasing wall flow while avoiding elephanting, which invariably will cause the fusing, what a conundrum.


image.png


I have my work cut out for me, and hopefully I will have some amazing prints to show you all in a day or two.

Any ideas, thoughts, opinions are welcome, if I am missing something that you see, please let me know!

That's it for today, thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful day! ~~@print3dpro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency