It's Time to Power Down to Power Up

powermeter.jpg

It is seven days to the end of the month. For those of you who are playing the HPUD (Hive Power Up Day) game, it is time to power down so you will have HIVE in your account to power up.

I think HPUD is a silly event and was planning on skipping it. Except I wanted to toss out the suggestion that the new Stake All feature by the Pizza Team be included in awarding the power up day badge.

I will talk about StakeAll below, but first I want to plan my power down for power up day

If you power up 10 HIVE, you will get a beautiful bee badge on Hive Buzz . If you power up 100 HIVE. If you have spare cash, you should be able to get 100 HIVE for about $30.

Life is more complicated for those of us who don't have spare cash laying about.

Only a few authors earn more than 10 Free HIVE in a month.

The default settings give half of the token rewards in HIVE POWER and half in HBD. To earn 10 free HIVE one has to earn over 20 HIVE in author rewards. To determine the amount you need to power down, go to the payout page on PeakD. It will show upcoming author rewards. Here is my page:

@yintercept/payout

It says I have 2.510 HP and 0.732 HBD in upcoming rewards. I have 2.33 HIVE in my wallet. That adds up to 4.8 HIVE; So, I will need 5.2 HIVE so that I can power up 10 HIVE.

Powering down takes place in 12 installments; So, I will need to power down 62.4 HP for power up day!

If I wanted to, I could power down 1200 HP. That would give me enough HP to power up 100 HIVE and get the big bee award. The picture shows my small bee from the 7/1/2021 power up day.

temp.jpg

Getting the HPUD award shows one's commitment to the platform. But all it means that that a person either just happened to have 10 free HIVE in their account on the first or that the person planned for the event ... probably by powering down.

I think it is foolish to make financial plans based on an arbitrary event like HPUD.

Investing in Hive-Engine Might Be a Better Investment than HPUD

I put the 3 HIVE I earned at the beginning of the month into the alt-coins on Hive-Engine. I think buying alt-coins on Hive-Engine is a better investment for most new users as many of the alt-coins currently have better rewards than HIVE POWER. Investing in alt-coins shows as much commitment to the platform as HPUD.

The Stake All Option by Pizza

The Pizza Team just released a feature called Stake My Tokens which, as the name implies, will stake all of one's tokens in a single transactions. When you press the button, it will create a single verifiable transactions with a list of the staked tokens.

I just pressed the button and it created this transaction:

https://hiveblocks.com/b/55895983#c5f6aa107fbb22b44013b8a7d1d7d7569f6bcdda

Here are some of the coins staked by the transaction: (This is essentially one day of activity).

TokenStake
LEO0.728
STEM18.385100
PAY87.6666
BPC6.948419
NEOXAG1.35908424
CTP13.136
HUSTLER39.87016017
POB0.82077059
ALIVE0.106
BLOG18.229
BHT0.59065
CENT0.04762170

I am tempted to just ignore Hive Engine until the first. I think the system will show that I made substantially more on Hive-Engine than on HIVE.

I suspect that I will get more than 10 HIVE worth of alt-coins in the upcoming days.

Now for the Power Down

I guess I will now power down 63 HIVE POWER so that I will have sufficient HIVE to Power Up on HPUD.

Every time I do this I swear that it will be the last time I do it. I think it would be better for me to invest my free HIVE in the alt coins.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency