Doubt

I wasn't sure of the best way to present this poem, so I did it two ways. Let me know your thoughts on the poem and the presentation.

20210228_133508.jpg

Doubt

Doubt
Covers my soul
Like ice rain
Its viscous drizzle
Encasing me in worry
Leaving me petrified

20210219_104548.jpg

Frozen in the beauty
Of my accomplishments
Solidified with fear

20210219_114653.jpg

But the weight
It drags me down
Bending and contorting me
Changing me
Into a grotesque mutation

20210219_114628.jpg

Of what I was
And what I should be
Distorted
While I long to
stand tall again

20210228_133508.jpg

divider.png

20210228_133922.gif

Doubt
Covers my soul
Like ice rain
Its viscous drizzle
Encasing me in worry
Leaving me petrified
Frozen in the beauty
Of my accomplishments
Solidified with fear
But the weight
It drags me down
Bending and contorting me
Changing me
Into a grotesque mutation
Of what I was
And what I should be
Distorted
While I long to
stand tall again

divider.png

I happened to capture this little tree in the ice storm I experienced the other day. I have more pictures here and again here. I was struck by an analogy at that moment. Recently, I have been struggling with self doubt. I'm relatively successful, but things haven't quite been going my way. I saw a likeness in they way that the ice slowly gathered on the tree. It was pretty, but eventually the tree began to crumble under the weight of it. I see a similar effect with doubt. That's what I was trying to capture with both the poem and the photos.

Please reblog and let me know your thoughts.

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency